Happy 2012!!

1 Jan

Wow, it feel so WEIRD to be writing 2012! I feel like 2011 started, I blinked, and it was over. But that probably has something to do with just how crazy of a year it really was for me.

On top of going to school full time,  I found out in late 2011  that I’d been accepted to the amazing  internship opportunity that I’d applied for and within two months of notification I and my family were packed up and moved to Ohio. This is going to sound terrible, but my last job didn’t quite keep me as busy as I like to be and I soon realized that my final semester of school was going to be, hands down, my hardest, due in large part to the amount of school work I was no longer able to accomplish at work. But I’m proud to say that I made it through, and graduated at the beginning of December and met my goal of graduating at least cum laude. Huzzah!

So that was 2011. I’m looking forward to 2012- the first year in a very, VERY long time that I have NOT been attending school of some kind or another! Thus the five New Year’s resolutions I’d posted yesterday. Today’s post has to do with the third resolution, that of sewing one garment per month which also ties in with my usual Pretty Pattern Sunday posts.

I’d mentioned that I had a need for a black dress of some kind or another. I have a length of black wool in the fabric stash and I think I’d like to turn it into this pattern:

What I like about this pattern is the versatility. Not only can I wear it in the colder months with tights and a long sleeved shirt underneath, I can also wear it alone in the summer out to a nice dinner. Living somewhere where the last frost date is in mid-April, I can really appreciate a piece of clothing that can stay in the closet year round!

What are you planning to sew in the New Year?

Eileen

4 Responses to “Happy 2012!!”

  1. elizaduckie January 2, 2012 at 11:08 AM #

    Happy New Year Eileen! May 2012 be everything you hope for.
    –elizaduckie

  2. thevintagetraveler January 6, 2012 at 10:30 AM #

    And a Happy New Year to you, Eileen. It isn’t too late to say that, is it?

    As for sewing projects, I’m working now on remaking a man’s tweed jacket into a jacket for me, and I’m looking for the perfect shirtdress pattern to make up in a vintage chambray I’ve had forever.

    • eileensbasement January 14, 2012 at 12:36 PM #

      Those sound like great projects! I really want to rework a man’s camel hair coat that I’ve had in my “stash” forever. I can’t wait to see yours.

      Happy New Year to you too! Sorry for the delay in posting, WordPress had you down as spam 😦 but I’ve fixed it!

Leave a Reply

