Sad Indeed

13 Jan

So I was thinking of doing a “finished sewing projects of 2011” post, when to my surprise, I found that I only sewed a total of nine items! Two of these eight are uncompleted projects, and one didn’t quite turn out like I’d hoped so it’s a flop. How sad is that? For as much money as I put into sewing, my turn out is very low.

With that in mind, I wanted to start 2012 by SEWING. I started this shirt on 8 Jan, and finished it up on the 11th. It is pattern #117 from the August 2009 issue of Burda World of Fashion magazine. I tried to find the line drawing and pattern online, but alas, it seems that feature is gone and the magazine’s website is no more.

Ahhh . . . flouncy!

I was inspired to create this shirt by a friend. See, this friend came to work wearing a hunter green suit with a delicate pink flouncy top. The color combination was so lovely and so unexpected, that I knew I wanted to create something similar. I decided to sew the easiest part, the shirt,  first as I’d been meaning to make it since I first saw it in the magazine and had this lovely pink georgette in the stash since about that same time!

I didn’t make any huge changes to the pattern save shortening the flounce by a few inches and using french seams on the front and sides. Instead of using a facing (which I abhor in sheer fabrics anyway) I simply did a rolled hem at the neck opening and sleeves.

I wore this top to work with a grey wool skirt from the sixties with a black cardigan and black shoes. I thought it was very chic paired with a sixties cashmere coat with mink collar!

All in all I’m very pleased with it and I’m anxious to get started on the suit. I’ve had some green tweed suiting in the stash forever. It’s too perfect as it has pink flecks in it which I didn’t notice until this idea seized me. Currently, I’m reading my sixties sewing books to see how they would have tailored what is called a “dressmaker’s suit” and I’ll be using this pattern for the suit.

I'll be making the one on the right

I’ll be good and document the process for anyone who cares. I can’t wait to use some of the skills I used to make my Lady Grey!

Here’s to 2012 being the Year of Prolific Sewing!

Until next time,

Eileen

4 Responses to “Sad Indeed”

  1. Casey January 13, 2012 at 10:04 AM #

    So pretty! I can’t wait to see how the suit turns out–the pattern is perfect. 🙂

    Don’t be too hard on yourself about 2011 sewing projects–after all you were super busy with other things (like school, work, moving and life in general ;)!

    • eileensbasement January 13, 2012 at 3:07 PM #

      That’s true- thanks Casey! I was really busy. The total would be much more, if I included all the knitted items.

      I’m excited about the suit. I took the day off and am going to do a muslin for the jacket, yay!

  2. Andrea January 13, 2012 at 11:42 AM #

    You’re back!!! I didn’t realize you were blogging again. Lunchtime readings now consist of Cold Antler Farm blog, Elegant Musings, and you again! Yay!

    • eileensbasement January 13, 2012 at 3:08 PM #

      Yeppers, I’m trying to get back in the swing again and dust off the ol’ blog. You’re so sweet!

Leave a Reply

