Pretty Pattern Sunday #15

12 Feb

Folks, yesterday was a new kind of cold for me. When I awoke, I looked out the window to see snow covering everything in sight. It was very pretty and the sun was shining and the snow was sparkling- so deceptively enticing to this recent Ohio transplant from Florida!

We were invited to a luncheon party and I figured my wool socks, new sewn 40s jeans (more on those in another post), short sleeved shirt with new handknit sweater atop (more on that in another post as well!) were enough for the short trip from front door to car, from car to party and back again. I topped it all off with my nice, thick Pendleton 49er and away we went.

As we trundled out of the house Wow! The cold was so . . .stark it just sucked the breath right out of me. We all quickly scuttled to the car and cranked up the heat. We noticed that the car thermometer stated that it was 18 degrees out! Yikes.

Post party chowdown, several attendees decided to go for a walk in the lovely snow. I was apprehensive at best but again was shocked at just how positively chilling the weather really can get. By the time we got to the little park a mere block down the street, I could barely feel my ears and had my hands shoved WAY down in my pockets which was doing very little in the way of keeping them warm.

It was then that I wished I’d brought along these:

Mmm . . . Angora-y

Isn’t this a darling set? Nothing is quite so charmingly vintage Winter to me as a little angora set. This pattern can be found at this website. She also has an Etsy shop featuring affordably priced vintage knitting patterns should you be so interested.

Here’s a decidedly un-vintage me modeling mine shortly after I cast off the last mitten.

Stay warm friends!

Eileen

6 Responses to “Pretty Pattern Sunday #15”

  1. janna February 12, 2012 at 1:31 PM #

    Lesson learned: if there’s snow on the ground, you should always take a hat and mittens. And although I agree that 18 is bone-chilling, it can get a LOT colder than that! This has been a really mild winter for the midwest. (And I have to say the angora hat and mittens are adorable, and I’ll be they’re very warm!)

    • eileensbasement February 13, 2012 at 8:43 PM #

      I’ve heard that this was a “mild winter” and I’m amazed because it’s SO COLD!

  2. Debi February 13, 2012 at 2:45 AM #

    Love your angora hat and mittens! and my…it’s COLD there!!!

    • eileensbasement February 13, 2012 at 8:45 PM #

      Thanks, you’re not kidding. Especially since I’m used to temps in the 50s!

  3. Casey February 13, 2012 at 6:26 AM #

    hehe! It’s fun to read about your reactions to the cold! Although I’m having a devil of a time adjusting back to this weather myself–three years in FL spoiled me. 😉 (And it’s not nearly as cold where I am–at least we were 10 degrees warmer yesterday. hehe!) Love the gloves and cap set–so cute! I need to remember to pack gloves whenever I go out these days (including those lovely ones you knit me!)… Otherwise I’m going to turn into an icicle!

    • eileensbasement February 13, 2012 at 8:47 PM #

      Definitely learned my lesson- hat and gloves with me ALWAYS. I am enjoying wearing wool though, I can’t complain about that and I thoroughly enjoyed the Fall. Now I’m looking forward to Spring!

Leave a Reply

