Just in Time for Snow!

18 Feb

Right about the time I finished up my 1940s Jeans, I finished this little vintage cabled cardigan.

Mmm . . . mustardy

Ever since I first laid eyes on this sweater via Vintage Vixen, I knew I must have one of my own. She has worn hers with so many amazing outfits and I really admired the versatility of a sweater like this. I was especially suprised by how much the mustard color caught my imagination as it’s not a color I typically wear.

The pattern is free and courtesy of the Victoria Albert Museum. It’s entitled “A New Design in Cable Stitch” and can be found here should you want one of your own! I checked my Ravelry page and this little number took me about a month total to complete from start to finish. That’s with everything else I have going on! I used Knit Picks Palette in, you guessed it, the mustard colorway. It’s a fingering weight yarn but I find the more I knit these vintage patterns, the more I don’t mind knitting with such skinny yarns as they tend to avoid the “made at home” look.

Peek a Boo!

The only modifications that I made to this pattern were shortening the ribbing by 10 rows on both the body and the sleeves (which I sort of wish I had not done now, but oh well) and as I did the increases on the sleeves I continued to cable them once enough increases were made to enable that. Does that make sense?

All in all, I’m really, really pleased with this sweater and I foretell that it will get a lot of use here in the frozen wilds of Ohio 😉

Unfortunately, I didn’t get a chance to work on the shirt I’d wanted to a few weeks back. My best friend is having a baby in about ten weeks and I’ve decided to make her a baby quilt. I’ve been cutting triangles and other shapes like a madwoman and think I finally reached the point where I’m ready to sew it together now. I hope to be able to show at least some finished blocks some time this week. I’m using boy-ish 1930s prints for the quilt and using, what else, but a vintage quilting pattern for my inspiration! I can’t wait to show it to you all!

Until next time,

Eileen

12 Responses to “Just in Time for Snow!”

  1. Debi February 18, 2012 at 12:56 PM #

    LOVELY! And looks fabulous with your new 40’s jeans!!!

    • eileensbasement February 18, 2012 at 6:21 PM #

      Thanks doll! I’m “well chuffed” with them both!

  2. Casey February 19, 2012 at 7:08 AM #

    Between you and Solanah, I feel there is some definite blogger peer pressure going on that is making me want to knit this sweater up! 😉 lol. Love how your’s turned out–so pretty!

    • eileensbasement February 19, 2012 at 9:46 AM #

      DO IT! 😉 It’s such a quick little knit and the results are so wonderful, why not?

      Thanks! I’m having a lot of fun coming up with outfits to wear it with!

  3. elizaduckie February 19, 2012 at 10:42 PM #

    Yet another tour de force! Looks great on you! 😀

    • eileensbasement February 20, 2012 at 8:29 AM #

      Thank you so much Wendy!! It’s perfect for a wintry day, that’s for sure.

  4. Elizabeth March 1, 2012 at 10:13 AM #

    I am impressed! Love the cardigan and the jeans. You did a great job!

  5. sofie October 31, 2013 at 7:06 PM #

    Did you use the “Turmeric” shade of Knit picks palette for this?

  6. Juliana @ Urban Simplicity April 8, 2014 at 9:10 AM #

    I adore this sweater! I’ve been thinking about making a mustard cardigan too, but I have to be careful about shades of yellow with my burns-in-the-moonlight skin. I think that shade just might be the thing!! Plus I’m interested into a foray into fingering weight yarn.

    • eileensbasement April 10, 2014 at 9:12 PM #

      I say go for it. They definitely take a little more time, but they do look more like ready to wear. So much so, that when I wear my fingering weight cardigans to wool festivals I usually don’t get any comments because folks assume they are store bought!

Leave a Reply

