Pretty Pattern Sunday #16

19 Feb

Hullo folks! Are you enjoying your weekend? I know I sure am. I just love holiday weekends; there’s nothing better than enjoying your two days off knowing that another day off still awaits!

Yesterday found me very busy. I took a trip to the local Farmer’s Market to introduce three new people to it which is always a fun thing to do. They had a lovely band playing as well- I can’t remember their name but they featured a guitarist, slide guitarist, mandolin player and, my personal favorite, a banjo player. They played songs that were new to me and did fun bluegrass spins on Beatle’s classics which I thoroughly enjoyed.

After that, I took my daughter to her sewing lesson. Yes, I know, I know, I’m a sewer, shouldn’t I teach her? I’m afraid my friends, that I have very little patience (it’s terrible and I work on it!) but I knew for something like this that I definitely want her to want to do only someone else could teach her. While she was busy learning to sew, I took advantage of the time to hit up my favorite local thrift store. Goodness were the thrift gods smiling down on me yesterday! I’ll have to show you all my loot in another post. I did lament the fact that a woman pulled from the “as is” bin a GORGEOUS vintage Singer that looked not unlike my Norma for the low, low price of $10 a mere SECONDS before I made it over there. I *might* have stalked her around the store a bit to see if she would put it back but alas! she did not. Oh well. Then home and a lovely night eating homemade mac n’ cheese and watching movies and knitting.

Today we’re planning something outdoorsy as the weather has been (I’m told) unseasonably warm lately. I laugh to think how much I’ve changed that I feel temps in the high 40s are “warm” but there it is. This warm weather turns my thoughts to, what else!?, but spring sewing.

Today’s pretty pattern is one I bought for myself for my birthday. I’ve long admired Swirl dresses so I could not pass up a dress pattern that looks remarkably like them!

Come Spring!

I can see making this up in all manner of combinations. I think a navy linen with white piping would be lovely. I like the idea of white dress with red trim as in view 3. I could also see a fun madras plaid with fun ric-rac trim!! Or how about a little gingham with ric-rac trim?? The possibilities are pretty endless with a dress such as this.

I hope you all enjoy your weekend!

Eileen

2 Responses to “Pretty Pattern Sunday #16”

  1. Casey February 20, 2012 at 9:26 AM #

    So pretty!!! Although I’m always wary of wrap styles–but maybe that is just because I always have the worst luck with unfortunate breezes. lol. (Thank goodness for petticoats!)

  2. eileensbasement February 20, 2012 at 11:12 PM #

    Ha ha, I didn’t think of that. I had several wrap skirts in the ’90s and never had an issue . . . . hopefully this pattern will follow suit. If not, let’s hope I’m wearing nice knickers 😉

Leave a Reply

