The Opposite of Dress Down Fridays

24 Feb

Just a quick post before I head off to work to show you an example of the bounty the amazing thrift store offered me last weekend. Observe:

Amazing Skirt!

I’ve been searching high and low for a good brown wool skirt and finally I’ve found one. I call it a consolation prize for the loss of the amazing Singer sewing machine (sob!). This skirt does wonders for the ol’ waist as it’s slightly wider than the average waist band. The skirt’s original belt thankfully came with it as well. It’s a self fabric buckle and the band is half self fabric and half leather. The skirt also has lovely pockets and a stiff lining which makes the most satisfying swish sound when walking. I can’t quite date the skirt- I think it’s home made (though certainly doesn’t look it) and the shape makes me think 50s, but how nice it looks and knowing this silhouette was also popular in the ’70s makes me think it may be later. Either way, I love it!

Details

As the title suggests, I’ve decided to wear this outfit to work today (with modern hair of course!). Take that dress down Fridays!

I hope you all have fun things planned for the weekend. I’m amazingly busy tomorrow- Farmer’s market, gardening class and a paper marbling ladies get-together with my neighbors. I’m hoping to squeeze some craftiness in there somewhere!

Until next time

Eileen

4 Responses to “The Opposite of Dress Down Fridays”

  1. Casey February 24, 2012 at 8:15 AM #

    I love this! Isn’t it fun when you finally find something you’ve been searching for? The thrift stores certainly have been good to you lately! (Despite loosing that sewing machine… Drat!)

    • eileensbasement February 24, 2012 at 4:39 PM #

      Yes, on this particular trip I found several things I’d been looking for. This skirt, a hunter green one and a great black one (as I tore my favorite black skirt!). It was totally pay back for not scoring the sewing machine. The universe was telling me I have too many already 😉

  2. Tiffany February 24, 2012 at 10:15 AM #

    Great! I’m going to keep my eye out for new posts. 🙂

Leave a Reply

