Pretty Pattern Sunday #17

26 Feb

A few weeks ago I had a pretty auspicious birthday. The family and I took the day off from work/school and drove to Columbus to check it out. I’ve been on a bit of a quilting spree lately and our first stop was at a quilt store to pick up some bits and bobs that I needed to finish a Civil War quilt I’m working on (see the fabric in the first picture here), then headed to eat delicious cheeseburgers, and finally went to the Ohio History Center.

So what does this have to do with pretty patterns you ask? Well while I was there, I fell in love with a quilt pattern:

Sorry for the poor picture- it was about three feet behind glass and it’s my cell phone camera to boot! Thankfully, the placard stated the name of the pattern. It’s an Irish Chain (triple Irish Chain actually) from my favorite period in quilt design, the 1930s. I went home and furiously googled the pattern and was pleased to find that there are online tutorials for these (for free, for free!!). I’m going to make this one next after I finish the uh . . . baby quilt that I started last week! I know, I haven’t finished my first quilt yet and I’m already working on a second and planning my third (and fourth, shhh don’t tell!)

That’s all for today friends. What do you think, do I have enough hobbies or what?!

Until next time,

Eileen

2 Responses to “Pretty Pattern Sunday #17”

  1. Frances Elliott May 14, 2014 at 6:50 PM #

    Do you have a pattern for this triple irish chain if so I would love to have it i cant find one and I love this quilt Thank you

    • eileensbasement May 14, 2014 at 7:40 PM #

      I found a copy of a Triple Irish Chain in a book called “The Big Book of Scrap Quilts”

Leave a Reply

