Pretty Pattern #18

4 Mar

Hi folks!

I dislike weeks where I feel that I’m so busy and am only able to post on Sundays. But if any week has been like that, this one has been it! I feel like every night this week we had something planned to do or something that I needed to make as I’ve been cooking more and more of our food completely from scratch. We also gave a small dinner party on Friday and I think I started cooking as soon as I got home!

In fact, I’ve spent so much time in the kitchen lately, that I thought I should feature something I’ve been wearing a lot this week:

In the doghouse again!

Ah the humble apron! I’ve managed to acquire a few old aprons from friends who’ve inherited them from older relatives because, as my friends say, “You’re the only person I know who uses them!” Aprons, for those of you not in the know, are a cooks best friend apart from a great set of knives. They keep one’s clothes safe from flying flour, liquids and, if you have children, sticky fingers that can’t stay out of the batter. Aprons serve as a great place to dry one’s hands when a dish towel is not close at hand (and when are they ever? Seems like I can never find one when I need one). Another great use for aprons is as a hot pad to pull dishes quickly out of the oven! I’ve also been known to use it for fanning the tops of boiling pots of water or sauce. They are a versatile tool in the kitchen.

I loved this pattern the instant that I saw it and knew it must be mine. I’ve purchased the fabric to make it, but haven’t quite got around to it and that’s something I hope to remedy soon. I adore the cheekiness of the man’s apron; the little dog hot pad goes in “the doghouse” with the clever quip “I’m in again!” So cute! I also like that the illustrated husband is not only wearing a full suit under his apron, but he’s smoking to boot. Ah the forties!

Enjoy your Sunday!

Eileen

2 Responses to “Pretty Pattern #18”

  1. janna March 8, 2012 at 11:54 PM #

    That’s just adorable! I, too, am a big fan of the apron, although most of mine are the plain white sort….

  2. eileensbasement March 11, 2012 at 11:01 AM #

    I’ve got a nice collection too though none of mine are white. I get them way too dirty for that!

Leave a Reply

