Spring and Summer Sewing Plans Continued

2 Apr

Really, how do I come up with such insightful titles? 😉

Did ya’ll enjoy my little April Fool’s Day joke yesterday? Did any of you think I really thought that pattern was pretty or that I even own it in the first place? Lest you doubt my taste in patterns, let’s get back to my sewing plans for Spring and Summer!

To continue where I left off from Saturday today I bring you blouses.

First up is this pattern from the fifties. I love all views of this except for the one with the balloon sleeves which look, as a friend of mine succinctly pointed out to me, like she’s trying to hide abnormally large biceps. Perhaps she eats a lot of spinach? I’ll most likely make the one in yellow in a pretty pink cotton that a friend recently gifted to me. It’s for heirloom sewing so it’s a very good quality cotton. I have so many skirts and cardigans that are currently crying out for a pink top of some kind or another so this would fit the bill perfectly.

Here’s one I’ve been waiting to make for quite a while. I’ve got a lovely yellow, white and pink plaid that would fit the bill exactly for view A. Isn’t it darling? I love the bow collar and the little turned up cuffs on the sleeves.

Last, but certainly not least, is this pattern. I adore a pattern with a demure front and a dramatic back such as this. As I’m in the habit of doing, I’ve got a perfectly matching white with blue polka dot fabric to make this in! Oh I’m so predictable!

I think I’ll do one more installation in this series featuring any bottoms I’m planning to make as well as matching ensembles.  I counted, and in all, my plans encompass about 13 items total. If I make one garment per week, I probably really could get that done but in all reality, I’ll probably end up with a handful. This is mostly due to my other crafting hobbies stealing my time away from garment sewing. Work and family responsibilities also tend to get in the way of my sewing time!

Well folks that’s all for today. Which of these are your favorite? Anyone else planning what they’re going to make for the sunny seasons?

Until next time,

Eileen

2 Responses to “Spring and Summer Sewing Plans Continued”

  1. Debi April 2, 2012 at 3:50 PM #

    haha! Funny april fool’s day joke. Love these patterns 🙂

    • eileensbasement April 3, 2012 at 4:58 PM #

      Thanks! Just hope I can make the time to make at least HALF of all the different things I plan to!

Leave a Reply

