Pretty Pattern Sunday #23

29 Apr

Good Morning everybody!

I knew this would happen. If you’ve been reading my recent posts about the gown I’m planning for the Victorian Ball, you’ll remember me saying that I thought I would make an 1870s ball gown rather than one from the 1890s, the period that the ball is set in. Well the more I mulled it over the more my perfectionist self took over and wouldn’t you know it, I’m leaning more and more to the giant puff sleeves, tiny waists and bell skirts of a proper 1890s ball gown!

But while I mull over what, exactly, I want my gown to look like, I’m going to begin working on the underclothes using today’s pretty pattern.

Simplicity 5726

This is Simplicity’s 5726, one of Martha McCann’s “The Fashion Historian” line. I’m only going to make the shift and the corset as the petticoat is definitely meant for fashions of the 1860s vice the 1890s.

I’ve got some gorgeous heirloom quality pink batiste that I think will be great to make the shift up in as well as plenty of lace in the stash to trim it with. Corset findings are wending their way to me via snail mail so I’m looking forward to getting that in and beginning the corset. I’m going to make the corset in a plain white coutil (why is that stuff so expensive??) but I plan to decorate the front with hand embroidery of some kind. Because I still want a semi-bustle at the back of the dress I ordered pattern #108 from Truly Victorian as well as the supplies to make it up in my size.

Peeps, can I just say that I’m so excited about making this dress? I’ve focused so much on making every day wearable vintage clothing that I think I forgot just how much joy costuming gives me. I’ll share a little fact about me with ya’ll; if I could have any job and money was no object, it would definitely be creating period costumes for film and TV. However, for now, I have to be a Responsible Adult, but you never know what the future holds.

What are ya’ll working on?

Talk to you soon,

Eileen

2 Responses to “Pretty Pattern Sunday #23”

  1. elizaduckie April 29, 2012 at 11:26 AM #

    Never givr up on your dream. Keep learning snd working towards it in any way you can. Blogging about the things you do in that vein might eventually find you that place in the sun…I can’t wait to see what you finish up with! 😀

    • eileensbasement May 1, 2012 at 6:55 PM #

      I never do give up. I think that’s why I like dressing vintage so much. It’s a little period costume drama in my every day life. Once the kids are out of the house, I’m definitely going to design school to pursue it seriously. I only have 12 more years 😉

Leave a Reply

