Pinafore Completed!

2 May

Hi Peeps! Are ya’ll enjoying your “hump” day? Mine’s going well thus far; however I have to get off the ‘ol tuchas and make something for dinner but I’m not sure what yet so I thought instead of doing that I’d post pictures of the finished pinafore!

So, the pinafore. It’s definitely a frivolous, silly thing, but I do love it.

I made the pinafore using a green and white striped cotton seersucker fabric. As you can see, it is liberally trimmed with frills and rick-rack. The back is pretty glorious; take a gander:

Ha ha, ignore the “bustle” look there, that’s the built in “skirt marker” on my dress form! As you can see, this dress is put on by buttoning up the back. I do so love a back button blouse, so why not a back button dress?

This was a pretty easy project to make up, that is, once I sourced a ruffle pattern piece off another pinafore pattern in my collection (see why it’s good to buy patterns of similar dresses?) I actually made no modifications to this pattern at all. I’ve discovered that if I cut a 1940s size 36″ bust for some reason it always fits like a dream. Whodda thunk?

I put this baby on shortly after completing her sans belt and it looked, well, oddly frumpy. However, once I threw the belt on and it cinched in the waist a bit, the whole effect was much better. I see wearing this to an outdoor festival or on a picnic of some kind. I’m bound and determined to wear PLENTY of vintage this summer as the locals seem to be a bit hostile about people who dress . . . differently.

Okay, guess I better go rustle up some grub!

Tchuss!

Eileen

6 Responses to “Pinafore Completed!”

  1. prttynpnk May 2, 2012 at 7:17 PM #

    I want this! I can see cartoon bluebirds helping me eat a funnelcake as stroll along. I must have this patterns!

    • eileensbasement May 2, 2012 at 8:50 PM #

      They’ve got a few on Etsy right now that aren’t too dear! I searched for “Pinafore Sewing Pattern” and found them! We could be pinafore twins πŸ™‚

      YES! I could wear this to a fun day at the fair! With a red belt and red shoes . . . .

  2. Casey May 3, 2012 at 8:47 AM #

    So, so cute–and the green is so you! πŸ˜‰ Hope you’ll have some pictures of you modeling it at some point? And don’t worry about the locals; they’re just jealous. πŸ˜‰ lol. (That’s what I tell myself, anyway!)

    • eileensbasement May 3, 2012 at 4:35 PM #

      Ha ha, green is so me! I should probably make dresses in other colors. Oh well, if it works it works right?

  3. John March 15, 2013 at 1:36 PM #

    Hi My Mum had some of these for my sisters but she put three big wooden buttons on the back of one and myself or my brother were put into it if we had been bad ! we couldent get it off ourselves then we were told to help with the house work or we could go out and play with our friends Which we did not do as we would be laugh at, it was her clever grounding

    • eileensbasement April 15, 2013 at 4:59 PM #

      Oh my goodness, that’s too funny! Nowadays someone would call her for child abuse, but I think it’s a good way to get a kid to stop doing something!

Leave a Reply

