Pretty Pattern Sunday #24

6 May

Good Morning everyone!

As many of you know, yesterday was Cinco de Mayo! We celebrated by having back-to-back cookouts on Friday and yesterday, the second being held mostly to clear out much of the extra food left over from the first one! Us and our neighbors enjoyed Coronas with lime and had a great time.

In the spirit of Cinco de Mayo is today’s pretty pattern.

Muy Caliente!

I flippin’ love this pattern. It’s one that I absolutely intend to make some day, but just haven’t got around to. I’m sure you can relate. I have several patterns like this; many of you may have noticed the profusion of Mexican and South American inspired designs from this period. What you may not know was that it was an intentional ploy to inspire goodwill between our country and countries to the South of us during World War II. It was known as “The Good Neighbor Program.”

I have another pattern in my collection that fits today’s theme that I’ve actually made up. Here’s the pattern:

And here is my version of the pattern made up:

It was so much fun doing the embroidery on this pattern. I actually did the vast majority of it when I was on a week long trip for work, so this blouse always reminds me of my time in North Carolina. Do the things you make evoke memories of where you were, what you were watching/listening to while you were making them? Mine do, which I think makes it very hard to part with them when I do closet clean outs, whether I wear them often or not!

BAM! Double dose of pretty pattern goodness for you today!

I hope you enjoy the rest of your weekend as I know I will. On the agenda is fitting the corset with bones and then cutting out and hopefully sewing the final version up using the coutil that arrived in the mail on Friday. I’m very glad I ordered it because it is leaps and bounds stiffer than the twill I’d originally purchased.

Until next we meet,

Eileen

ETA: As soon as I published this, WordPress let me know that this is my 100th post! I’ll be hosting a giveaway tomorrow to celebrate the occasion. Stay tuned because I have some great goodies for you!

9 Responses to “Pretty Pattern Sunday #24”

  1. elizaduckie May 6, 2012 at 10:42 AM #

    I missed out on seeing the finished embroidery and the finished blouse, so this post was fun! It looks so beautiful!

    • eileensbasement May 6, 2012 at 12:14 PM #

      Thank you so much! It was fun to make and thanks for the congrats! I’m finding that I’m getting into the swing of blogging now that I’m finished with school for good!

  2. elizaduckie May 6, 2012 at 10:43 AM #

    Oh, and happy 100th post! πŸ˜€

  3. Debi May 6, 2012 at 2:07 PM #

    LOVE the blouse! That embroidery is great!! I also have the first 1942 pattern! We can be twins πŸ™‚ I also have the matching little girl’s pattern. I keep meaning to make it for me and my niece but I haven’t gotten around to it yet!!

    • eileensbasement May 7, 2012 at 6:23 AM #

      Oh wow, Debi, I had no idea it was a Mother/Daughter fashion. I love those and will have to keep my eyes peeled for this one.

      Thanks for the blouse compliments. I’m kicking myself for not wearing it on Cinco de Mayo!

  4. Casey May 7, 2012 at 9:03 AM #

    I still adore how that embroidred blouse turned out! I need to make one (one day… along with the million other things I want to make. lol.).

    Congrats on post 100!!!! Hooray!

    • eileensbasement May 7, 2012 at 11:42 AM #

      Isn’t that the way? I’ve got a huge queue of stuff to make and others just keep joining it!

      Thanks for the congrats!

  5. RobynR May 7, 2012 at 11:25 AM #

    I remember you embroidering that . . . It’s lovely. I adore that style of blouse πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

