Pretty Pattern Sunday #25

13 May

First off, Happy Mommies Day to those Moms out there! I’m currently awaiting breakfast and hoping that the baseball game we are supposed to go see today isn’t cancelled due to rain (fingers crossed!).

In honor of Mother’s Day I thought it would be fun to post a Mother/Daughter set of patterns from the 1940s. I’ve talked about the popularity of such styles before and I really enjoy them!

I think this is a sweet set of patterns and I especially like the blue version. The square neckline seems much more flattering than the unusually high sweetheart neckline of the other. I’m also a sucker for rick-rack and POCKETS!

True to form, when I do make this up, I fully intend to use blue linen and a profusion of white rick rack. I have a habit of falling in love with the color/fabric suggestions on the front of pattern envelopes and attempting to make my projects look similar.  I ought to do this soon though as my daughter is nearly ten and won’t go for dressing alike for much longer 😉

Enjoy the rest of your weekend and don’t forget to enter the giveaway which closes tonight. I can’t wait to choose and announce the lucky winners!

Eileen

One Response to “Pretty Pattern Sunday #25”

  1. gail May 13, 2012 at 10:49 AM #

    Sweet! My mom made some knitted Mother/Daughter sweaters when I was little. I love the idea!

Leave a Reply

