Pretty Pattern Sunday #27

27 May

Today while I’m busily catch-stitching the seams of my 1890s ballgown to the twill underlining (no mean feat, I can assure you) and adding the boning to the bodice my thoughts will be turning, no doubt to simplicity. For this ballgown is anything but simple. One of my main motivations for working on it is to just complete it so that I may turn to sundresses and other wearable frivolities.

Which brings me to today’s Pretty Pattern.

As refreshing as a cool drink of lemonade on a hot day!

Don’t you just love the pattern illustration? I imagine that the girl in the yellow is from the country and has just arrived in New York and can’t help but stare up at the buildings surrounding her.

This pattern is one that could conceivably be started in the morning and finish in time to wear out that night! And I love it for that. With the temperatures rising, this is a great little Summer number. I even like the jaunty little jacket to wear with it in self fabric.This would be a wonderful pattern if you’re the type (like me) who tends to buy beautiful prints and not a whole lot of more practical solid fabrics.

Well with the ball only two weeks away, it won’t be long now before I’ll be sewing up plenty of items for Spring and Summer wear. Tell me, are you working on anything refreshingly simple?

Eileen

4 Responses to “Pretty Pattern Sunday #27”

  1. elizaduckie May 27, 2012 at 11:24 AM #

    I wish! 😀 My refreshingly simple (and stress relieving) project, on the needles now, is Sundry. A knitted garter and slip stitch shawl out of a summery linen mix yarn by Berroco called Firefly (just love the name!) and Berroco’s Origami.

  2. Casey May 29, 2012 at 8:29 AM #

    So, so cute!!! I have a couple similarly simple sundresses in my pattern stash, and I’ve been eyeing them lately (or making another version of my 50s sundress based on the tutorial I posted last summer). It’s been too hot to think about wearing anything complicated! lol.

    • eileensbasement May 29, 2012 at 12:14 PM #

      Agreed! I wore a white cotton dress on Saturday and received so many compliments about how nice and cool I looked 🙂 Dresses are the best!

Leave a Reply

