Slowly But Surely

30 May

Have any of you noticed that the more years you sew, the longer it seems to take you on projects? For some reason, when I was a teen, I used to whip up anything in a day or two, but now that I’m older and wiser it seems that I really take my time in the process and pay very close attention to detail. Back then, I didn’t care a hoot for how the inside of the garment looked, much less take the time to hand sew much of anything that I couldn’t avoid!

But now. Oh now, even when I’m sewing a costume, to be worn for one night, I must insist on a strict and close attention to detail.

What you see in the photo above is the innards of my 1890s ball gown bodice. I worked on this most of the long weekend, meticulously catch stitching the seams to the interlining by hand as well as inserting the boning (heh heh) by hand as well.But don’t worry about me, I was happy as a clam watching various Wes Anderson films in anticipation of the newest one coming out soon!

Close up of the hand work

Anywhoo, the stitching is by no means going to win any prizes for the way it looks but it’s certainly serving its purpose. All that’s left on this baby is the sleeves, the lining and the trimming. All of which I’m aiming to complete by Friday at the latest.

I’m really looking forward to trimming the bodice. The Hub and I drove to Cincinnati this weekend to visit a fabric store there and I found some great lace and ribbon in the exact shade I was looking for. Huzzah!

This picture will give you an idea of the way it will look later. I’m going to edge the neckline with this lovely, wide cream lace and then create bows with this 2″ velvet ribbon (is not the color glorious?!) which will be placed on each shoulder and possibly in the middle front. If there’s time, I checked out a few books on ribbon flowers and I hope to add some to one shoulder as a sort of corsage. I love the admonishment in the bodice pattern which reads, “trim the bodice, then trim the trims- anything goes!”

The skirt will follow a similar fashion, I have this same lace and ribbon, only smaller, and will edge the entire bottom with it. I can’t wait to work on that next as I’ve got the skirt pieces already cut out, which is by far, my least favorite part of sewing.

Pshew! Lots of work, but I’m hoping it will all be worth it.

Until next time,

Eileen

4 Responses to “Slowly But Surely”

  1. gail May 30, 2012 at 1:34 PM #

    This is so impressive, Eileen! I discovered your blog after you started this project so I just went back and checked out all the posts with this tag. I can’t wait to see your finished dress! I’m also curious to know what you’re going to do in terms of hair, makeup and shoes.

    • eileensbasement May 30, 2012 at 4:44 PM #

      Thanks so much for reading. It’s been a lot of work, but costuming was my first sewing love so it’s been fun getting back into it. Stay tuned, while I figure out what to do about hair, makeup and shoes 😉

  2. Casey May 31, 2012 at 7:31 AM #

    I too take a lot longer on sewing–even “easy” things–than I used to. But I’m also more often satisfied with the finished project! 🙂

    Love how your dress bodice is looking–so neat and tidy inside! 😀 And I ADORE the shade of green ribbon. Gorgeous!

    • eileensbasement June 1, 2012 at 6:59 AM #

      You hit the nail on the head there; I’m way more pleased with the results of my sewing now than I ever have been! I have exactly one item left from my younger sewing days that actually still gets worn, and even now I pick at the insides and think about doing it over!

      Thanks for the compliments. I was thrilled when I found the exact shade I wanted, and in velvet. I mean, how often does that happen?

Leave a Reply

