Pretty Pattern Sunday #28

3 Jun

When life hands you lemons and all that . . . . Well folks, I’ve packed up the pieces of my Victorian Ball Gown and placed them carefully in a plastic bin under the bed to hibernate for now. Out of sight out of mind as they say. I immediately washed some of that gorgeous roses fabric that is making the rounds in the blogosphere to sew up a pretty 60s sheath dress to wear when I see my favorite band, The Avett Brothers, in a few days.

For the bodice I’m using Butterick Retro pattern 5748. The one with the bow, of course.

Unfortunately, the fabric I’m using is a bit heavy, so I opted not to go with the circle skirt that came with the pattern and instead will use the skirt from this pattern to make it a sort of “wiggle” silhouette.

Now usually, as a “dewdrop” shaped woman, I prefer not to wear the wiggle skirts, but I’ve been exercising more regularly which, despite not losing much weight, makes me automatically feel much better about myself and how I look in clothes. I think the dress is going to be gorgeous as  the fabric is a border print of blue roses and I’m centering the rose border to climb up from the waistline to the top of the bodice, and from the waistline down towards the hem of the skirt. If you’d like to view the fabric, take a look at Gertie’s newest post; that is the exact fabric that I’m using and it’s going to be great! I’m going to add a nice kick pleat for walk-ability and a self fabric belt to sweeten the whole deal. I’m also adding the zip up the back instead of on the side as the pattern has it.

Enough with all this chatting. I’m going to go sew a dress! Hope you all are having a wonderful weekend!

Eileen

6 Responses to “Pretty Pattern Sunday #28”

  1. elizaduckie June 3, 2012 at 2:39 PM #

    Amazing fabric…can’t wait to see what your dress looks like!

  2. gail June 3, 2012 at 4:57 PM #

    This is going to be so pretty! A perfect cheering up dress!

    • eileensbasement June 4, 2012 at 11:06 AM #

      Thanks! I can’t wait to see how it turns out. Hopefully it will look as good as I’m envisioning.

  3. Casey June 4, 2012 at 9:36 AM #

    Boo hoo about the Ball!!! :/

    Anyway, your new dress is going to be lovely! Can’t wait to see pictures! 🙂

    • eileensbasement June 4, 2012 at 11:08 AM #

      Ha, ha, I wanted to play costumes too, since there were no Titanic themed events in my area! Oh well. I just hope this dress turns out the way I’m hoping it will. I’ve carefully planned but sometimes . . . .

Leave a Reply

