Satisfaction

7 Jun

I started with this,  and watched it grow.

Baby Basil

I harvested the pungent leaves.

And turned them into this.

Pesto is the besto!

Pesto:

1-2 cups of Basil leaves

1/3 cup of Parmesan cheese

1-2 cloves of garlic

Salt to taste

Pepper to taste

1/3 cup olive oil

Pine nuts for good measure

Pulse basil, cheese, salt, pepper and garlic in a food processor until leaves are finely chopped. Pour oil slowly over this mixture while pulsing the food processor. Add nuts. Enjoy!

I’m hooked. Think I’ll start looking for homesteads in a few months when my lease is up. One day, most of my food will be grown by me. Mark my words.

Eileen

 

4 Responses to “Satisfaction”

  1. gail June 7, 2012 at 6:15 PM #

    Mmmmmm! I haven’t made any this summer yet! Wish I could smell it!

  2. Tasha @ By gum, by golly! June 8, 2012 at 9:13 AM #

    Congrats on your harvest! Now that we have a house it’s so much fun to grow a few things. I’m starting small and in containers because I know nothing. But I have a few tomato plants, herbs, and the best to watch has been radishes growing from seeds. 🙂

    • eileensbasement June 10, 2012 at 3:54 PM #

      Thanks! I’m pretty pleased with myself. I’m in the same boat as you; I’m just starting out (and also live in a town house) so I’m using containers and a planter box on the only strip of soil we have. You should post about it 🙂

Leave a Reply

