Pretty Pattern Sunday #29

10 Jun

Pshew! Whatta week! How’s everyone doing? It seemed like this week was crazy busy which accounts for my lack of blogging. I failed to finish the dress in time for the concert (OMG WE WERE LITERALLY 10 FEET FROM THE BAND!!!!), but I’m still plugging along on it and hope to be able to show ya’ll later this week.

Another thing: I can hardly believe that June is 1/3 of the way through! This year is just zooming by! I’m turning my attention to the upcoming Fourth of July holiday with today’s pretty pattern Sunday, but I need your help. See, I have two red, white and blue fabrics with which to make an appropriately patriotic dress, only I’m struggling with which one to make. Help a girl out!

Should I make this dress using a lovely striped cotton poplin fabric?

The striped version, of course!

Ah stripey goodness

Or should I make this little number using a drapey crepe with a print that reminds me of fireworks?

OR should I make the sailor dress in blue linen from this post and just wear red accessories??  OR, from the same post the one with red embroidery and blue accessories?! Hmm, lots to think about here!!

On the agenda for the rest of the day is baking. I’m going to make our weekly bread and bake up a strawberry-rhubarb pie to share with some good friends later. I’ll also sew a bit on the concert dress. I hope to get it done by mid week in order to get started on whatever ends up being the Forth of July dress winner!

Eileen

10 Responses to “Pretty Pattern Sunday #29”

  1. Aimee June 10, 2012 at 3:54 PM #

    The McCalls with the fireworks patterned material! Definitely! Short sleeve for sure!

    • eileensbasement June 13, 2012 at 9:46 PM #

      It IS super cute. Whichever way it goes, I’m sure I’ll make them both up eventually!

  2. gail June 10, 2012 at 4:08 PM #

    Stripey dress!! Stripey dress!! *jumps up and down*

    • eileensbasement June 13, 2012 at 9:45 PM #

      Ha ha, I like that one too, but the stripes make me nervous as this will be my first real go at matching them up.

  3. Jen June 11, 2012 at 1:42 AM #

    I like the first dress and it looks very summery 🙂

    • eileensbasement June 13, 2012 at 9:45 PM #

      That’s very true, it would be great for an outdoor fireworks show!

  4. Casey June 12, 2012 at 4:36 PM #

    I think the striped fabric and the first pattern would be perfect for summer!!!

    • eileensbasement June 13, 2012 at 9:44 PM #

      Not so secretly, I think this is the one I’m leaning towards too. Chances are they’ll both be made eventually!

  5. RobynR June 14, 2012 at 9:25 PM #

    I’m for stripes as well. It looks so summery. Also, don’t be afraid of matching the stripes because you’re an excellent sewist with an eye for detail. You’ll completely rock it out 🙂

Leave a Reply

