Almost there . . .

13 Jun

Just a quick little update today as a dear, dear friend is in town this week for a class (can you believe she chose to take her class here in Ohio just to visit me when she could have taken it in Hawaii?! That’s a good friend!) so I’ve been spending my nights with her. I’ve managed to putz around with my dress a little bit and look at how it’s turning out! I’m frankly pleased as punch!

Rosey goodness!

I concentrated the border print fabric to make the roses climb up the bodice and down from the waistline. I saw this on a vintage pattern illustration and have wanted to try it ever since. I was at first a little worried about placing so much business there since it draws the eye, but cinched with a belt, it looks great on!

All that’s left now is some hand work to the inside including hemming and inserting the zipper! Woo hoo! If you haven’t yet, do tell me what your vote is for the Forth of July dress!

‘Till next time!

Eileen

4 Responses to “Almost there . . .”

  1. Kerri June 14, 2012 at 2:14 AM #

    This is lovely. I really like the placement of the border with main color concentration at the waist. It’s interesting and eye-catching.

  2. chicenvelopements June 14, 2012 at 4:15 PM #

    I love love love this dress1 Where ever did you find that fabric???

    • eileensbasement June 15, 2012 at 6:25 PM #

      This was a special sale via Fabric Mart Fabrics. I scooped up five yards of it and I think it went pretty quickly. I’ve seen fabric come up elsewhere though, don’t give up!

  3. elizaduckie June 17, 2012 at 11:37 AM #

    Oh, oh, oh fabulous! I want to see a picture of it on you, I’ll bet you look fabulous!

    Here is a little fun blog post that I think you’ll enjoy:

    Ukulele Festival of Great Britain…
    http://travelfibreandthread.blogspot.com/2012/06/ukulele-festival-of-great-britain.html

Leave a Reply

