In the Garden in my Garden Party Dress

20 Jun

Well hullo folks! Apologies for the brief radio silence; Father’s day was a dreary, rainy, stormy day and I couldn’t muster a pretty pattern Sunday and a migraine laid me low Monday and Tuesday. Harumph. But I’m feeling better now, and was finally able to take pictures of my latest completed project!

If you’ll remember, I first talked about this dress in this post. I then posted a little sneaky peeky last week. Here it is in all its completed glory!

This pose cracks me up!

I’m really proud of all the effort that went into this dress. I first measured myself, to see if there have been any changes since the last time I sewed (wishful thinking?) and then successfully fitted the tissue pattern and made the necessary adjustments. I was doubly careful because this fabric was sort of odd. It looked like a standard border print but it was actually panels and so I had to make a plan before I cut it out.

The original pattern had a circular skirt and for this fabric I just knew that wasn’t going to work. Additionally, only the bodice was supposed to be lined, but the white part of this fabric is surprisingly see through despite being a jacquard. I opted to change the skirt to this pencil shape and to line it as well. I followed Sunni’s directions for lining a vented skirt.

Admiring my ‘maters

I decided to just add the bow to the back of the dress as it was a little much with a bow on both the front and the back. I like to think of this dress as pretty much business in the front and party in the back what with the dipped backline and the pretty bow. I placed the bow such that it would cover the little bit of the zipper that does peek out, despite my best efforts at hand-sewing the zipper in place.

I also added a little lace at the hem for a change. I very rarely do this.

Finally, I made a self-fabric belt from an old kit I picked up from a vintage shop. Funnily enough, this is the first time I’ve done this and I don’t know why as I love the look so!

So that is my newest creation!! I’m over the moon about it. Here’s a question for you all; can this be worn to work or is it a little too fancy? I work in a standard office environment . . .I think I could pull it off but I’d love any input!

Until next time,

Eileen

18 Responses to “In the Garden in my Garden Party Dress”

  1. Janey June 20, 2012 at 5:32 PM #

    Oh my goodness, this is absolutely marvelous! It looks so perfect!

    And, yes, I think this can be worn to work!

  2. twinklingnorthstar June 20, 2012 at 6:39 PM #

    That is a gorgeous dress!!! And a perfect setting. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. gail June 20, 2012 at 7:40 PM #

    Eileen, it’s stunning! You did such a great job, and it looks fantastic on you!

    I think you could wear it to work, especially if you put a little jacket or cardi over it ๐Ÿ™‚

    • eileensbasement June 23, 2012 at 9:48 AM #

      Thank you! Now I just need to find the perfect little blue or green cardi to wear with it. Or I could just knit my own . . . .

  4. elizaduckie June 21, 2012 at 1:18 AM #

    I see Gail had the same idea I did. Worn with a small plain cardigan, or a solid jacket, either would tone down the dress a bit, cover the party-ish bow and give it a business look. Then it’s the perfect day to evening dress…toss off the jacket or cardi to party. It looks fabulous on you.

  5. Aimee June 21, 2012 at 10:04 AM #

    it is GORGEOUS! I think I’ve been inspired to make one myself!

  6. RobynR June 21, 2012 at 8:22 PM #

    I’m right there with Gail and Wendy. A little cardi would make it perfect for work.

    • eileensbasement June 23, 2012 at 9:49 AM #

      Just gotta find the perfect one, or make one ๐Ÿ™‚ I like option number two!

  7. Casey June 22, 2012 at 12:03 PM #

    It looks beautiful! I am just in love with the neckline shape and that jaunty little bow! So, so pretty. I agree with everyone else who has suggested a cardigan or jacket for work–you’ll definitely be the best dressed. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • eileensbasement June 23, 2012 at 9:50 AM #

      Thanks doll. Yes, I loved the neckline especially the little split and how low the back dips. Good stuff!

  8. janna June 22, 2012 at 11:38 PM #

    It’s beautiful, and it looks great on you! And yes, I think you can definitely wear it to work, with sweater or even without.

    • eileensbasement June 23, 2012 at 9:50 AM #

      Ah the first vote for without a sweater or jacket, though it’s usually cold in my building this time of year, so I’d probably end up wearing something over it anyway.

  9. mancunianvintage July 3, 2012 at 6:15 AM #

    Gorgeous dress – I’d wear it for work or formal occasions, great job!

    • eileensbasement July 3, 2012 at 9:45 AM #

      Thank you so much! I threw on a jaunty little white cotton poplin jacket I had and wore it to work without causing any scandal. Though I did keep slipping it off to show people the back! Ha!

Leave a Reply

