Pretty Pattern Sunday #30

24 Jun

Hey everyone! I darn near forgot about Pretty Pattern Sunday this week! Whoops! Luckily I remembered before this day is but a memory.

So it seems pretty clear to me that the winner of the Fourth of July dress vote was the striped number (good choice, I was leaning toward that one myself!).   Last night I prepped the fabric and fitted the tissue of the pattern. Surprisingly, for a Vogue, there was very little bust ease. Usually I find that there is way too much so I was pleased when I didn’t have to take it in that much! I can’t wait to get started working on it. I may take pictures of the cutting in progress for anyone who would like to see me sweat over matching the stripes! I want so badly for it to look perfect.

The weather here has been positively hot, and it’s hilarious to see that all the locals tend to stay inside if the temperature is over 90 degrees. Us former Floridians are loving this weather though as the humidity is zilch. It’s turning my thoughts to playsuits and fun two-piece outfits from the Forties.

Now technically, this pattern is supposed to be pyjamas. But I think in a nice cotton or linen it could work for day wear as well. Make up a little button down skirt to throw over the shorts and viola instant Forties sun goddess!

I hope you all are having a lovely weekend. We had family visiting from Florida which was so nice. They left early today so the family and I went to a little antiques town that’s not too far away for lunch and browsing. I found a great store and made off with some nice vintage buttons and trims for the low, low price of five dollars! I’ll showcase them in another post perhaps. We had the most delicious sandwiches and sweet tea at a hotel that has been there since 1822, which was very cool. It’s going to be so hard getting up to go into work tomorrow, I can tell you!

Enjoy the rest of the weekend dears!

Eileen

 

3 Responses to “Pretty Pattern Sunday #30”

  1. prttynpnk June 24, 2012 at 5:41 PM #

    I love it! So Paulette Goddard….

  2. Casey June 25, 2012 at 8:17 AM #

    *sigh* Heat without humidity?! You lucky duck! lol. Some mornings I walk outside and swear it’s more humid than FL was! :p

    Love that pattern! I think it will look super cute as a playsuit! I’ve been wearing the one-shouldered one I made (and still need to photograph *ahem*) a lot, and just got another that a friend made me in the mail. 😉 So nice for the weekends!

    • eileensbasement July 3, 2012 at 9:46 AM #

      I’ll bet they are! I’ve been exercising so I’m not as timid about the ol’ waistline any more. I wore my exposed midriff dress the other day to Indianapolis and it was great!

Leave a Reply

