The Fruits of my Labor

28 Jun

So rather than show you pictures of dress in progress, (um . . . because I haven’t started yet!!) I thought I’d show you something wonderful.

This here is a picture of a baby Millionaire tomato! Isn’t it darling?!

More ‘mater babies!! I can’t remember if this is on the Millionaire tomato plant or the Mortgage Lifter.

This is a baby chocolate beauty pepper. They’re a sweet pepper that is a reddish brown in color, thus the name. They have the prettiest little purple and white striped flowers.

You can see all the little buds surrounding this open flower.

This is a ground cherry. This thing is growing like gangbusters and I’m hoping to harvest enough to make some ground cherry preserves. Has anyone ever tried one of these before? They’re also known as Chinese Lanterns because they’ll turn a red-gold in color when they’re ready. The seed catalog said they were popular with early settlers.

This is a picture of my little bean flowers. However, this picture also shows that something has been mercilessly MUNCHING on my beans!! The Hub and I gave the plant a once-over and found Japanese beetles and some other yellow and black spotted beetle on the leaves. Luckily for me, the Hub isn’t as squeamish as I am so I enlisted him to pluck them off and squish them. I know, terrible, but darn it, I want to eat my beans too!

Finally the cucumber flowers. I’ve had to go out and “molest” the cucumber flowers on several occasions; meaning, that I took a Q-tip and swirled it in each and every flower, emulating a bee. The problem is, that I’ve not seen any bees in my garden so I was hoping to do their work for them! I really, really want to get some cukes to pickle, even if it means molesting my plant! Ha!

How does your garden grow?

Eileen

3 Responses to “The Fruits of my Labor”

  1. jessegarden June 29, 2012 at 12:45 AM #

    beautiful, thanks for sharring

  2. thevintagetraveler July 7, 2012 at 12:59 PM #

    Good gosh, I haven’t heard of Mortgage Lifters in years! My grandfather always grew them and they were HUGE!

    • eileensbasement July 7, 2012 at 10:17 PM #

      They are huge now! If you would like to relive the memories I bought my seeds from Baker Creek Heirloom Seed Company. They’ve got some amazing varieties and not just of tomatoes!

Leave a Reply

