Previously Unblogged- A Series of Garments

3 Jul

Well hello there! Did you all enjoy your weekend? Ours was good; we were pretty lucky and escaped much of the damage caused by the land hurricane  that ripped through the Midwest and East. Only one small tree fell over in our immediate neighborhood and we were lucky to keep our power on throughout, unlike an unlucky co-worker of mine whose power was out from Friday through Sunday! I had just staked my tomatoes with real stakes versus the previously used sticks that I found in the “woods” behind our house, so thankfully our plants made it through the amazingly strong winds that we had. One thing is for sure: I need an emergency kit and I need a plan because we are woefully unprepared for such a thing, were it to happen again.

Well enough of all that! This weekend also saw us taking a jaunt to Indianapolis, Indiana to visit the Kurt Vonnegut Memorial Library. I bring this up because I wanted to show you what I wore to the big city.

Ack! My Midriff’s out!

I made this dress in March of 2010  out of a vintage rayon (my guess is that it’s 1940s as the hand is GLORIOUS) that I scored from ebay. This was when I was still living in Florida so a dress like this can be worn in March! I remember I actually debuted it by going to my knitting group and heading straight from there to go swing dancing with Casey! Ah, good times!

I used this McCalls pattern which I bought for a song on ebay as well. I’m still seriously floored that I only paid about $5 for this, including shipping!

I opted for the version without the bow tie back. I think it looks much cleaner without. I didn’t make any special adjustments to the dress that I remember, though wearing it now I realize that I should pick apart the waist seam and raise the waistline a bit as it has only recently come to my attention that I’m short waisted!

It was only after pulling this out of the closet that I realized that I have a lot of things that I’ve made over the years that have not been featured in blogland so I thought I’d start a little series to give these clothes some much needed attention. I also like to see how vintage pattern drawings translate into actual dresses so I’ll be including the snapshots of the actual patterns used to make the dresses.

I must now away to work some more on my July the Fourth dress! I’m hoping I can beat the clock since I don’t need it until we head out to view fireworks! I’ve done much of the bodice and am hoping that it is smooth sailing from here on out. I’ve been listening to the book “My Week With Marilyn” which I can stream through my local library. Isn’t technology grand?!

Until we meet again,

Eileen

9 Responses to “Previously Unblogged- A Series of Garments”

  1. mancunianvintage July 3, 2012 at 11:46 AM #

    GORGEOUS! Love the print and the cut 🙂

    • eileensbasement July 6, 2012 at 8:16 AM #

      Thank you! I worried about it being so loud then realized I didn’t care as it was so pretty.

  2. Susan July 3, 2012 at 11:50 AM #

    OMG…..I love this dress so much!!! You rock the vintage look!

    • eileensbasement July 6, 2012 at 8:17 AM #

      Thanks darling! Wish I could dress like this everyday but alas, government work sort of frowns on anyone looking different.

  3. Janey July 3, 2012 at 12:53 PM #

    Oh my goodness! This is marvelous!! I’m super jealous that you have such a pattern! It’s too darling! What great fabric too!

    • eileensbasement July 6, 2012 at 8:18 AM #

      Thank you! It would be pretty easy to make from a standard Forties dress pattern I think. Just gather the bust line a bit, and add a cut-out with extra for turning under.

  4. gail July 3, 2012 at 2:17 PM #

    Such a pretty dress! It suits you perfectly!

    Funnily, I’d been thinking about doing a similar series, but although I’ve been wearing my older items, I either forget or am too lazy to photograph them!

    • eileensbasement July 6, 2012 at 8:19 AM #

      I usually forget. I have a previously unblogged skirt I wore to work the other day and even looked suitably vintage to photograph. Then I got home and put on my pyjamas and then couldn’t be bothered to put the outfit back on again!

Leave a Reply

