Happy Birthday America Dress

5 Jul

Wow, this must be some sort of record for me. I set a deadline and I actually MADE IT! This dress was finished yesterday, 4 July at about 2:30pm! Woo hoo!

I’m pleased with it, but not as pleased as I would’ve been if I had worked on it on my own, near snail’s pace. I made a lot of shortcuts that I ordinarily would not take and there isn’t a lick of hand stitching on the whole garment!

But it served its purpose. It was a cute and patriotic dress to wear for the Fourth of July! Finishing it at two meant that I had time to do my hair and face and bake a from-scratch apple pie using this recipe. Dudes, it was delicious!

Note my perfect pompadour!

I learned something working on this dress too. I mean, it was something that I knew already, but making this dress really solidified it for me. I DO NOT LIKE DEADLINES. If, in the future, I post a dress that is not yet made and tell you lovely people that I’m going to have it made by such-and-such date, please take what I say with a grain of salt. Whenever I’m making something on a deadline it begins to feel a bit like work and less and less like a hobby and then I gripe and grumble my way through it.

Anyway! We ended up having an impromptu bar-b-que with our neighbors and then headed out to a local park to see the big fireworks show. Then back to the house for sparklers, roman candles, and bottle rockets. It was a good day! I hope my American friends all enjoyed the day as well!

Eileen

8 Responses to “Happy Birthday America Dress”

  1. prttynpnk July 6, 2012 at 6:50 AM #

    Love it!

  2. gail July 6, 2012 at 10:01 AM #

    That’s a great dress! You look adorable! I’m totally with you on the deadlines – somehow it makes fun seem like work!

    • eileensbasement July 8, 2012 at 10:14 PM #

      Gah! Exactly, I’m so contrary, once I set one I sabotage myself!

  3. Cuckoo Chanel July 6, 2012 at 5:07 PM #

    This is phenomenal. What a great dress!!

  4. mancunianvintage July 8, 2012 at 5:34 PM #

    You may not have liked working to a deadline – but the outcome is phenomenal Great dress and pie-making abilities – jealous! 😉

    • eileensbasement July 8, 2012 at 10:15 PM #

      Thanks! I’ve had lots and lots of practice both making dresses and pies!

Leave a Reply

