Previously Unblogged Part Deux

17 Jul

Scrolling through my personal digital Vintage Pattern Library, I stumbled upon yet another previously unblogged garment. This is the beautiful Hollywood Pattern #457 featuring the gorgeous Maureen O’Hara.

I made view one to wear to my former employer’s Christmas bash. I made my version from an oh so soft bolt of forest green velvet.

Surprisingly, I don’t have too many pictures of the full view of the dress. I had originally intended to add the pockets and lace detailing. I even went so far as to buy cotton lace with the holes (what is that stuff called? I know it has a name) which one can then thread ribbon through. I bought a skinny red velvet ribbon to use for this purpose. When I placed it all on the dress it just screamed “little girl’s holiday dress” rather than “sophisticated vintage lady” like I wanted it to. Alas! No frippery on this dress for me.

Here is a better detail photo of the gathered neckline and sleeves which feature that tiny box pleat at the hem so typical of the period. I think someone should have worn some shape wear with this! I’d gained a lot of weight for me during this period of time while finishing my degree. Not only did I go to school more than full time, but I worked full time and obviously had my family to tend to as well!

And again, a close-up of the neckline. This also is a good view of the way I wore my hair to the party. This was right after I started learning how to pin curl and I think I did a pretty good job! This is also after I had my stylist cut alarmingly short bangs. I was trying to go for a Bettie bang look, but somehow didn’t quite make it. She told me later when I left that the other stylists asked her what she did to me and she had a hard time convincing them that I wanted bangs that short!

So there you have it, another previously unblogged garment is now blogged!

Eileen

2 Responses to “Previously Unblogged Part Deux”

  1. mancunianvintage July 17, 2012 at 7:54 AM #

    What a stunning dress – anything in velvet is a winner to me – nice job!

  2. RobynR July 17, 2012 at 2:22 PM #

    You’re always gorgeous but yeah, the eyelet lace threaded with red ribbon may have been a bit much.
    Did I ever tell you about the time a stylist cut my bangs at an angle?? They were almost as short as yours on my left side and slanted down to below my eyebrow on the right. AND! Somehow I didn’t realize it until after I left and was looking in my rearview mirror fluffing my new do so I had given her my usual fairly generous tip (there would have been NO tip if I’d noticed before I paid). After I finished crying, I drove home and got Bill to straighten them out. I never even considered marching back in to make her fix it and I don’t miss having short bangs!

Leave a Reply

