More Thrifty Finds

19 Jul

Now you all know I love a good rummage at the thrift store right? I’m guessing most of you do too. You just never know what sort of treasures you will find, if one is willing to just put in the time.

Recently I took a good friend out for lunch on her birthday and afterwards we both determined that we were not in any hurry to head to our respective homes. I suggested going to what I’m now calling “The Thrift Store of WONDERS” and luckily, she was game.

Here’s my haul:

I found some great metal zippers which I always snap up when I can! These were priced at something like .29 cents a piece. I also found two patterns, one a nice robe for the hub (I’m thinking for Christmas, hopefully he doesn’t read this blog, but if he does, hi Hon, forget I said that ๐Ÿ˜‰ ) I also found a cool ’70s shirt dress pattern, but neglected to look at the size in my eagerness to acquire! Would anyone with a 40″ bust out there enjoy this pattern? My only requirement is that you must reside in the USA. First comment gets it!

Does anyone know what this is?

Does this help? It’s a lipstick mirror! This clever device attaches onto the tube of lipstick and is especially handy for touch-ups. I keep one on my favorite red (MAC’s Russian Red, for the curious) at all times. This one will go to the office. It only cost me .49 cents! Huzzah.

Continuing on, I came across vintage pure virgin wool knitting yarn from Columbia-Minerva.

This is my first vintage yarn! They also had lots of this yarn in a cream color, but I opted for the fun bright ones instead. We’re not surprised by this are we. Again, these cost me about .49 cents a piece.

On the same trip I also picked up a copy of three ofย  Daphne Du Maurier’s works in one volume. I bought it because Rebecca is one of my favorite novels ever. If you’ve not read it yet, do yourself a favor and pick it up! Finally I bought a cardigan I can wear for work which is largely uninteresting but very fashion-y and comfortable.

Has anyone had any good thrift store hauls lately? I’m convinced that Ohio has the best thrifting. Certainly the best out of the four states I’ve lived in in my life!

Adieu,

Eileen

7 Responses to “More Thrifty Finds”

  1. elizaduckie July 19, 2012 at 2:14 PM #

    OMG! “Rebecca” was my favorite books for a long time. Sigh. That takes me back! ๐Ÿ˜€ Enjoy the rest of your finds.

    • eileensbasement July 20, 2012 at 7:54 AM #

      Yes, I love that book from the first line on. It’s one I revisit from time to time. I’ve never read any of her other books though, have you?

  2. alli July 20, 2012 at 12:45 AM #

    I live in Australia so unfortunately I can’t put my hand up for the pattern….poop ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
    Great finds tho. Sounds like u had an awesome time
    ๐Ÿ™‚

    • eileensbasement July 20, 2012 at 7:56 AM #

      I’m sorry, it’s just that shipping overseas, even for something so small, costs me so much which, unfortunately, I can’t afford right now.

      • Alli July 25, 2012 at 2:59 AM #

        Thats ok….postage costs are ridiculous at the moment, aren’t they? Hope you find it a good home ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. Casey July 23, 2012 at 8:40 AM #

    Woah–I love the lipstick mirror you found!!! ๐Ÿ™‚ And the yarn is such a lucky find. Do you wash your thrifted yarn, btw? I just so often find yarn that seems a little “dusty” at best.

    • eileensbasement July 25, 2012 at 1:42 PM #

      I didn’t wash the yarn, but I did throw it in the freezer for a day or two just to make sure there were no moth eggs on it that would taint any of my other yarn. I take no chances!

Leave a Reply

