The Heart of the House

2 Aug

If you hadn’t guessed from my last tiny post, my family and I have decided to put down some roots and start house hunting. This is very exciting as the houses I love, namely vintage ones, are well within our price range in the area that we’ve decided to settle.

One sad thing I’ve noticed when looking at these older homes is that many of them are missing their original tile and fixtures. Now, I know, it’s silly for me to expect houses to remain the same and not change over time, but I get very sad indeed when updates do not fit the period of the house. Many of the houses that we’ve seen will have updated kitchens especially. I tell you, it breaks my heart!

As the house we’re very interested in was built in the early 1930s I’ve been searching out a lot of kitchen inspiration from the time period. I know, I know, the one above is from the Forties, but I do love it so! The white cabinets, the red and mint green combo, the cute little window treatment and the glimpse of a booth-like table there on the right. What is not to love?

Here is an example of a great Thirties kitchen. I always like a yellow kitchen. They’re so cheery, don’t you think? Again, here I love the touch of red. The stove is nothing short of amazing. I’ll definitely have to start scouring auctions and garage sales for one that will look just so in our future kitchen! Another thing to be on the look out for is the amazing chrome furniture. I’ve always wanted a great Formica and chrome table with matching chairs!

Are you starting to see a trend here? I definitely would get some white cabinets. Isn’t the bar darling? I think the shelf detail on the end there is just great to store those odds and ends and get the cookbooks off my bookshelves and into the kitchen where they belong. Again, we see the colors red, yellow and mint green.

Thanks for joining me on this little odyssey through vintage and retro kitchens! Hopefully someday soon, I’ll be showing you one of my very own!

Eileen

P.S. If you are the owner of these images, please let me know. They’ve been in my “vintage kitchen inspiration” file so long, I now cannot find where these originally came from to attribute them. Thanks!

 

8 Responses to “The Heart of the House”

  1. janna August 2, 2012 at 10:09 PM #

    Good luck! Although I”m not sure I’d want actual vintage appliances….

    • eileensbasement August 4, 2012 at 7:58 AM #

      Haha, I would if they were working properly. We’ve got an old coffee percolator that has outlasted numerous new coffeemakers we’ve purchased over the years!

  2. Casey August 3, 2012 at 6:54 AM #

    Best of luck on the house hunt! πŸ˜€ Love these kitchen images; I am hoping one day we’ll rent (or better yet buy!) an older home that has a kitchen with some flair to it. πŸ˜‰ Oh, and the white cabinets remind me of the metal ones (circa 1950s) that were in my grandparent’s townhouse. Found out the person the house was sold to after my grandfather passed away, ripped out those adorable old cabinets and trashed them. :/ I so wish I had known so I could have rescued them to save for myself!

    • eileensbasement August 3, 2012 at 1:52 PM #

      Oh, Casey, that’s so sad! If you don’t actually want an old house, buy a new house people!!!

      Thanks for the well wishes! We’re heading out tomorrow to look in earnest! So excited.

  3. elizaduckie August 3, 2012 at 8:21 PM #

    Good luck house hunting! Thought of you when I saw this interesting article on Etsy.com about an innovative idea for libraries. Article is by a knitter/spinner/weaver:
    http://www.etsy.com/blog/en/2012/the-local-music-project/?ref=fp_blog_post

    • eileensbasement August 4, 2012 at 8:00 AM #

      Ah, thanks for that, Wendy! It is right up my alley; music, libraries and knitting.

  4. RobynR August 3, 2012 at 10:36 PM #

    Picture the first: http://www.midcenturyhomestyle.com/inside/kitchen/1940s/gallery/page32.htm
    Picture the second: http://www.shelterness.com/17-retro-kitchen-designs-that-inspire/ I’m a little horrified/fascinated by the barbie kitchen shown on this site.
    Picture the third: http://dornob.com/9-righteously-retro-kitchens-showcase-past-design-ideals/

    • eileensbasement August 4, 2012 at 10:46 PM #

      Thanks for doing the legwork for me there, Robyn πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

