Pretty Pattern Sunday #35

12 Aug

Just last week I was wishing for Fall and lo and behold the last two days Fall has definitely been in the air! There has been a significant amount of cooling off as well as an overcast sky and a lovely, crisp breeze. Hooray!

Naturally, my thoughts are now turning to Fall sewing (when they are not thinking of house hunting, oy!) so I thought today I would share a pattern that I desperately need to get cracking on.

Aren’t these trousers lovely? I love these McCall’s illustrations. They’re so detailed and the colors have kept so nicely over the years. Unfortunately, this particular pattern was purchased dirt-cheap and more for the illustration than anything, so I didn’t mind that they only have a waist of 24 inches! I don’t think I’ve had a waist that small since my very early teen years. I’ll most likely opt to use the reproduction Simplicity trouser pattern that the vintage sewing blog world has been raving about.

I would love these in a nice chocolate brown or a hunter green wool. They would go with a few of my hand knit cardigans and would be just a ticket for Fall’s transitioning weather.

I hope you all are enjoying your weekend!

Eileen

2 Responses to “Pretty Pattern Sunday #35”

  1. gail August 12, 2012 at 1:28 PM #

    Ohhh, I love this one! I’ve also been meaning to make that reproduction Simplicity pattern. Maybe this fall!

  2. Casey August 14, 2012 at 8:58 AM #

    You lucky thing, you–so envious that the weather is starting to cool off a bit for you! 😉 We’re still very much in the grips of the 80-degree range (and it looks like that’s pretty much the way it’ll be through September :/). I want it to cool off more so I can open up the house (and start to pull out my vintage sweaters for their annual air out/repair)!

    Love the trousers pattern! I have that Simplicity pattern, but haven’t ever taken it out of the envelope. :/ Mostly because the Smooth Sailing trousers have always fit perfectly! Though I like the subtle difference in style…

Leave a Reply

