The Lost Month

22 Aug

Folks, it’s been an exciting month here at the Basement. I think you gathered from my last post that a little homestead is in the works. In fact, I meet with the loan officer on Friday to arrange various appraisals and inspections before we can close and the house that we have a contract on becomes ours! I’m a nervous sort when it comes to big deals such as this one, so please send me and my family your well wishes that things run smoothly!

Anyway, for those of you who have been in my shoes, you know that house hunting takes up a considerable amount of time (which is why I’m so glad that it seems that the end is in sight). I apologize for dropping off the map, but what with the search and all, I haven’t had the time or really the gumption to do much blogging, because really, who wants to hear about house hunting?

That’s not to say that nothing has been accomplished around here, crafty wise. Another drain on the crafting front is saving every penny possible for the impending move which means crafting from the stash. I recently pulled out a sweater pattern and the yarn that I purchased years ago for a little zipped cardigan for my son.

This is the creatively named “Child’s Zipped Jacket” from Debbie Bliss’ Celtic Collection booklet. I raveled this project here.Β  Unfortunately for both me and my son, he has decided that he no longer would like to wear this sweater. This is unfortunate for him because I’m knitting it anyway and darn it, he’s going to wear it! I’m using various stash yarns, but the one most used is Knit Pick’s discontinued yarn Telemark. It’s a lovely DK weight wool and will be hard wearing this winter. I’m thinking I might line the jacket; has anyone ever lined a knit jacket?

I also pulled a project out of the UFO pile and have been working on it here and there in the few snatched hours I’ve had. Those of you who have been reading for a while may recognize it from this post, but I’ve finished the top of my Scrappy Vintage Nine Patch Quilt.

Scrappy Goodness!

In this picture the top is hanging over the edge of the standing quilt hoop that I found at a local thrift store for the low, low price of $5. Have I mentioned before that the thrifting in Ohio is amazing? But I digress. I bought this kit at the first (and last) quilt show I’d ever gone to. I say the last because man, within three hours I think I bought enough fabric for three quilts and a gorgeous handmade basket. Dangerous, those quilt shows! Doesn’t it look loverly though? All that remains is making the quilt samich; for those not in the know its when you sandwich the batting between the quilt top and the quilt backing fabric and stitch them all together. It’s great fun, and I’m thinking I’d like to do this by hand. I really would like to get this quilt finished before the big moving day because I already have a great place picked out for it to hang in the new home!

Well folks, that’s all for now. Thank you for those of you who have stuck with me. As things settle down, expect to see more regular posting and less sporadic crafting!

Eileen

4 Responses to “The Lost Month”

  1. agujasblog August 22, 2012 at 10:13 PM #

    Beautiful quilt. Good luck with the house stuff!

  2. Casey August 23, 2012 at 7:57 AM #

    Sending lots of good house-closing and moving thoughts your way! πŸ˜‰

    I love the sweater you’re knitting; perhaps once he sees it finished (and it gets cold), he’ll feel differently? One can hope since kids change their minds so quickly. πŸ˜‰ lol.

    Love the quilt! I still need to finish the simple one I started earlier this year; I think I finally just decided to go the tying route rather than giving myself *more* work with actually quilting by machine (or hand)… As much as I adore the look!

    • eileensbasement August 23, 2012 at 4:12 PM #

      Thanks for the happy thoughts! I’m not too worried about it, I’m sure he’ll end up coming around. If not, I’m his Mom and can make him wear it πŸ˜‰ I do like the idea of tying a bed quilt, but this one is intended for a wall (or over our future fireplace!) so I’d like it to be more finished looking.

Leave a Reply

