Proof of Sewing: The Victorian Ladies Quilt

1 Sep

Way back in January one of the resolutions I made to myself was that I would sew at least one garment per month. The amount of fabric and sewing supplies I have merit at least that amount of attention. So far, I’ve managed to keep this resolution. Until this month. However, there has been sewing.

What you’re looking at is a quilt top for my lovely daughter. See, I inadvertently made a quilt for my son out of fabric that my Mom had left when she passed. Soon after it was finished, my daughter asked if I could do the same for her. In the stash of my Mom’s fabric, she pulled out this amazing Victorian lady fashions fabric. Naturally, she is a girl after my heart. Also in the stash was fat quarters of amazing civil war reproductions that seemed to fit the theme.

I had to find a good pattern to showcase the ladies and the repro fabric. Funnily enough, that perfect pattern came in the form of The Practical Guide to Patchwork by Elizabeth Hartman (a wonderful book if you are new to patchwork or just love fun modern patterns!). I used her “Small Plates” pattern because I could fussy cut the beautiful lady fabric and sort of frame them with the civil war repro fabric. What do you think?

You get the idea. There are some beautiful fashions on this fabric; I had a hard time cutting some of the ladies in two! Most importantly, my daughter is delighted and can’t wait for me to finish now that it seems fall is definitely in the air here. I went to the quilt shop the other day and found the most perfect sashing and backing fabric. Observe:

I don’t know why this came out sideways as the file is in my computer the correct way. Isn’t it lovely though? And so perfect! I’ll be working on finishing this up over my long (very long, I took off Tuesday as well!) weekend! I definitely want to finish it before we move! Today though, we are going to the fair! I’m so excited to see the animals, eat terrible food, and look at the knitting.

What are you up to this weekend?

Eileen

7 Responses to “Proof of Sewing: The Victorian Ladies Quilt”

  1. gail September 1, 2012 at 9:55 AM #

    Yay! So cool to see this after reading about it in my comments yesterday! How do you like to quilt – hand, or machine? I’m hoping to get in a few blocks’ worth of sewing today 🙂

    • eileensbasement September 1, 2012 at 4:19 PM #

      So far I’ve only quilted by machine- though I do stitch the binding by hand. However, I have a wall-hanging quilt in the works and that one will be hand quilted. And I have the fabric to do a cool ’30s triple Irish chain and I’ll probably do a mix for that one; machine the blocks then actually hand quilt it in a frame.

  2. Emily October 12, 2012 at 3:15 PM #

    Beautiful quilt! Do you happen to remember or still have a selvage edge with the name or manufacturer of the fabric with the Victorian ladies on it? I would love to get my hands on some of that fabric! I saw a quilt at a quilt show made with this fabric and so when I did a Google search I found this post, but I can’t find any more information about the fabric. Thanks!

    • eileensbasement October 14, 2012 at 1:55 PM #

      I’m so sorry, I threw out the selvedge and I don’t have any extra fabric left over 😦 I wish I could help. All I know is I inherited it from my Mom and it’s more than a decade old. I hope you can find it.

      • Emily October 15, 2012 at 1:51 PM #

        OK thanks anyway!

  3. Melody October 19, 2012 at 1:53 PM #

    WHAT is that last fabric, the one that printed sideways? My mom, who passed away two years ago, used to doodle ladies just like those whenever she had a minute. They were lovely; I just found some more this past weekend. (Actually, the people who bought my parents’ house did, and they called to let me know, but I digress) I was reading your blog today for the first time, and your Victorian ladies quilt for your daughter had me beginning to think of making a quilt for MY daughter, who is about to fly the nest. She, like her late grandma, is an artist, and I would LOVE to find that fabric for HER quilt’s backing! Any info you can share about finding it would be greatly appreciated.

    • eileensbasement October 21, 2012 at 10:07 AM #

      So this one should be easier to find because this was the only fabric I actually bought for this quilt. The other fabrics were purchased a decade or more ago by my Mom. Unfortunately, like the ladies fabric, I threw out the selvedge but go to a good quilt shop and look in the Civil War section for it. That’s where I found it. Good luck and sorry I can’t be more help. I tried to Google it but unfortunately couldn’t find it. I know now, for the next quilt I post, to save those selvedges!!

Leave a Reply

