Finished Project: Forest Path Stole

6 Sep

I’m a gal that likes a good challenge. Earlier this year, my friend Andrea asked me if I’d like to participate in a mini-knit-along with her. The objective was to knit the Forest Path Stole. If you are a knitter, you know that this is a pretty challenging stole. For those not in the know, it involves not only lace which is notoriously finicky to knit, but it also involves a technique called entrelac. Basically, entrelac involves knitting a base row of triangles, then picking up stitches from these triangles to knit squares in one direction and then doing the same on the way back. The rows of squares build up to make a basket weave pattern. So anyway, this shawl was no joke.

Mine isn’t quite as substantial as the original as I only had a limited amount of my yarn of choice. I had to knit a lesser amount of rows and I omitted the bottom, top and side borders. Despite that, I’m pretty pleased with how it turned out and it’s great to cover the shoulders with while reading a book in bed with the fan on! You’d be surprised at how warm a simple knitted lace shawl is!

Here is a close-up of the lace pattern. You can see how the rectangles are oriented to make a basket weave pattern. There were also four different lace charts in this one pattern but after knitting them so much, they became a bit more routine. Like anything, the more you do it, the easier it becomes!

Of course I couldn’t resist wearing it in a silly fashion. I’m a pretty silly person by nature actually (I love a good pun).

Our Lady of Knitted Entrelac Lace

I’m currently working on another knitted lace shawl which has been languishing in my knitting basket. I’ve suddenly decided that I have TOO MANY projects sitting around in half-finished states around the house and I’m working mightily to remedy that. I’m going to limit myself to one “upstairs” project; sewing related usually since that is where the sewing machines are located and one “downstairs” project; usually knitting since it’s a project I can do while watching re-runs on Netflix!

What are ya’ll working on these days? Anyone busting out fall projects yet?

Eileen

21 Responses to “Finished Project: Forest Path Stole”

  1. Elizabeth September 6, 2012 at 9:01 AM #

    Give yourself a pat on the back! The shawl is beautiful!

  2. reWOLLuzza September 6, 2012 at 9:58 AM #

    Oooooh, you did it! This one has been on my to-do-list for so long… now I’m even more motivated to start it soon. Absolutely stunning piece of work!

    • eileensbasement September 7, 2012 at 7:58 PM #

      Ah, just jump right in and do it! Pretty soon you’ll be wearing yours on your head šŸ˜‰

  3. gail September 6, 2012 at 10:00 AM #

    That is gorgeous! Well done! You’ve also inspired me to pick up my shawl again – I would really like to wear it this fall!

  4. moveeatcreate September 6, 2012 at 10:07 AM #

    It’s beautiful! I’m super impressed!

  5. Ella V September 6, 2012 at 11:16 AM #

    Beautiful!!!

  6. idiosyncratic eye September 6, 2012 at 1:04 PM #

    I was like wow then I read that it involves entrelac as well and I was totally blown away! It’s beautiful and I can’t even begin to imagine the work and concentration that was needed to combine both lacework and entrelac in the same project! šŸ™‚

    • eileensbasement September 7, 2012 at 7:59 PM #

      Haha, let’s just say I half watched a ton of mindless TV while knitting this.

  7. Janey September 6, 2012 at 1:05 PM #

    This is so impressive!!! I love the color too! Fabulous job!

    As for my fall projects…I’m currently overwhelmed by my Halloween costume, and after that I have plans for a circle skirt for my upcoming trip to Disneyland.

    xoxo
    -Janey

    • eileensbasement September 7, 2012 at 8:00 PM #

      Thank you! I can’t wait to see your Halloween costume. I need to get cracking on mine as well. Ooh, I wish I were going to Disney. I have a special place in my heart for Disneyland as I grew up in California and have many great memories there. Have fun!

  8. Trish September 6, 2012 at 10:52 PM #

    That shawl is AMAZING! I’m a new knitter… someday I hope I can make something like that!

    • eileensbasement September 7, 2012 at 8:02 PM #

      You CAN! I’ve been knitting six years now, but I think I could have done this a few years ago. Like many things, with practice all things are possible!

      • Trish September 7, 2012 at 9:13 PM #

        Then I will keep practicing! šŸ™‚ Thanks for the response!

  9. elizaduckie September 6, 2012 at 11:01 PM #

    Oh, we’ll done! Looks absolutely lovely, and I like the smaller size, it takes nothing away from the sheer gorgeousness.

    • eileensbasement September 7, 2012 at 8:02 PM #

      Thank you! I can’t wait till it cools down and I can wear it to work!

  10. Tasha @ By gum, by golly! September 7, 2012 at 12:24 PM #

    Wow, that is just gorgeous!! The color looks beautiful, too.

    I guess you could say I’ve been doing fall knitting all summer. lol Working between a fair isle pullover and just started a fisherman-style pullover. šŸ™‚

    • eileensbasement September 7, 2012 at 8:03 PM #

      Thanks! Oh yes, I can’t wait to see your finished fair isle. I love your knits; you do such beautiful work!

Leave a Reply

