Planning my Future Clothes

15 Sep

Ever since Gail so graciously offered to cart me around Chicago in search of beautiful fabrics, I’ve been planning what projects to get fabric for. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, I think planning is almost as fun as actually making. Am I alone in this? I think I’ve narrowed it down to a few as I really don’t want to overrun my budget!

Here’s what I’m thinking thus far.

I’ve had this pattern for a few years now, and every Fall/Winter I pull it out, look at it, sigh, and put it back. Why? Because I want to find the perfect hunter green wool to make view B. I’m reluctant to buy anything that I haven’t seen and felt in person. I already have a mink fur collar that I bought specifically for making this coat. How beautiful is it?

Next up is sort of predictable, but I really, really need to make some great Forties trousers in various lightweight wools. I’m thinking red for sure, and possibly a deep chocolate brown . . .

I’m actually not going to be using this pattern, but the Simplicity repro that has made the rounds in the blogosphere with many, many beautiful examples.

I’d also like to make this dress and all its cute variations. I’ll probably be boring an make it in black, but truth be told, I don’t really have an LBD!

I especially like the pocketed peplum and the fancy draped variations though it will be fun to try the collars as well.

Finally, I’d like to find some fabric to make this darling capelet.

I’m still thinking about what color I’d like to make it in. I’ve also got a few modern patterns that I’m thinking of buying fabric for, but those aren’t as fun and are more things that I can wear to the office. Boring!

I’m very excited about this trip; I’m looking forward to seeing and feeling quality apparel fabrics again as they seem to be a bit scarce in my immediate area! It’s good that I make a plan; otherwise I’m so disjointed and never know what to get or how much to get of any fabrics. Does anyone else experience this?

Well I’m off to enjoy the rest of my weekend and hope that you do the same!

Eileen

3 Responses to “Planning my Future Clothes”

  1. Meredith September 15, 2012 at 9:55 AM #

    You, are an awsomely amazing woman…just so ya know! 😉

  2. gail September 15, 2012 at 10:37 AM #

    These are excellent picks! I love every single one of them! And I agree that planning and purchasing fabric as at least as fun as the actual making of the item!

  3. Emily September 27, 2012 at 9:42 AM #

    I’ve just discovered your blog through a post from My Happy Sewing Place. I think your first pattern is darling! I’d love to see what you do with it.
    -Emily

Leave a Reply

