In Which I Begin to Decorate*

8 Oct

Hello folks! Thank you all so much for the kind words and sweet wishes about the ol’ farm house. We don’t actually take possession until mid-November so in the meantime I’m scheming about decorating.

Let me fill you in on a little something. Five years ago I lived in another bungalow (can you tell I like bungalows?). I decorated to my heart’s content; painted, hung pictures, hunted out good knick knacks and sewed curtains. You get the picture. However in the intervening years I’ve been sort of transient; moving from apartment to apartment. When you do that you begin to wonder why even hang the pictures? Why sew curtains? Why bother painting? Why unwrap one’s extensive collection of jade-ite?

But now, oh now that home ownership looms gloriously ahead of us once more, I’m fairly bursting with ideas! We’re starting with some much needed furniture as we’re gaining something like 500 more square feet (which includes a formal dining room). We started with a cool vintage brass bed for our son. My apologies for the crap picture, I’m definitely asking Santa for a nice camera this year.

It needs some polishing and a little work for sure. It was sitting in someone’s garage for a few years and is a bit tarnished. I’m going to hunt down some Brasso to shine her right up but that will have to wait until we move and have more space.

We also splurged a little and purchased this table and chairs; there are three chairs total which is fine since I plan to but the table up against a wall in the new kitchen.

Isn’t it a beaut!? It’s a ’30s or ’40s enamel topped table. There are two leaves that slide out from under the top and spring into place. Get a load at the top of this table!!

Wow, I still can hardly believe that I own this. It’s going to look amazing in the breakfast nook!

Yesterday I purchased a Sellers cabinet that looks JUST LIKE THIS ONE! Image came from here.

I originally thought that I would not like the little flower details painted on it, but now that I know they are original to the cabinet you can bet your boots I won’t be touching them. There are some little dutch stickers stuck on the bottom doors of my cabinet which I do plan to remove. And the handles are bakelite! I’m so amazed that they are still intact! Won’t this cabinet look gorgeous with a vintage tin bread box atop it and cluttered with jade-ite pieces?

Thanks for bearing with me. I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again, I love to plan. I can’t wait to move and share with you all as I feather our nest!

Eileen

* But let’s be completely honest here, I started decorating the minute she accepted our original offer! To be fair, I didn’t start buying furniture until last week after we closed on the house.

3 Responses to “In Which I Begin to Decorate*”

  1. gail October 8, 2012 at 10:53 AM #

    Wow! That table is amazing! Great find! Love the cabinet too!

    • eileensbasement October 8, 2012 at 11:27 AM #

      Thank you! I can’t wait to put them in the kitchen and start painting and bust out all my jade-ite and other items I’ve collected over the years. Is it mid-November yet? 😉

  2. Tiffany October 8, 2012 at 12:01 PM #

    I’m a bungalow lover as well. Your farm house is adorable!!! It’s pretty neat that you’ve found some nice kitchen antiques for your home. More to come, I’m sure 🙂

Leave a Reply

