Previously Unblogged Part Three

17 Oct

This previously unblogged is a very special one for me (see the other two here). It’s my FIRST vintage sewing project. I made this dress waaaaaay back in January of 2010.

I used Hollywood Pattern 855. I always love to see which star is featured on the cover and in this case it’s Betty Grable.

This was a real learning curve for me. Having not previously worked with vintage unprinted patterns it came as quite a shock to me when seam lines and pattern markings weren’t there. To add to my headache, the pattern is two sizes too small! It was definitely a “make it work” moment for me.

Put a bird on it

I think it turned out pretty great! The fit is near perfect for me; funnily enough, only the sleeves are tight. The fabric couldn’t be better, if you take a closer look at the fabric you can see that it features multicolored swallows. Being my favorite birds, I had to snap up all this fabric when I found it despite the fact that it was a polyester.

As soon as I finished sewing it I donned it to go out swing dancing with the sweetie. Ah good times.

Thanks for joining me on this walk down memory lane!

Eileen

10 Responses to “Previously Unblogged Part Three”

  1. gail October 17, 2012 at 5:39 PM #

    I love putting a bird on it 😉

    This dress is soooo pretty – I can see why it’s one of your faves!

    • eileensbasement October 21, 2012 at 10:08 AM #

      Thanks darling. I think of everything I’ve made this dress garners the most compliments. I guess lots of people like a bird on it!

  2. Danielle October 17, 2012 at 8:41 PM #

    That dress is gorgeous! Aaaand I laughed so hard when I saw the caption “put a bird on it!” I love Portlandia!

    • eileensbasement October 21, 2012 at 10:09 AM #

      Thanks! Yes, that skit cracks me up and now I think of it every time I see a bird on anything!

  3. Alli October 18, 2012 at 6:34 AM #

    Love the pattern on the dress……just gorgeous. And the dress itself…….swoon! 🙂

    • eileensbasement October 21, 2012 at 10:09 AM #

      Thank you so much! The dress that started it all for me!

  4. Lorraine Lahav October 20, 2012 at 5:05 AM #

    I think you`re amazing, the time you cut this patterns out, despite the difficulties you pressed on regardless and look at the reward! looks great, you`re amazing.

    • eileensbasement October 21, 2012 at 10:10 AM #

      Thank you! I’m glad it turned out because I love the fabric so much that I would have been really sad if it ended up not fitting.

  5. Juliana @ Urban Simplicity April 8, 2014 at 11:00 AM #

    Wonderful dress! I love that color combination–I just wish I could wear brown better! It looks lovely on you. A well-fitting dress is just the bees knees, right?

    • eileensbasement April 10, 2014 at 9:10 PM #

      You aren’t kidding! This pattern needed some tweaking because the waist was tiny, but I love the final result.

Leave a Reply

