Pretty Pattern Sunday #43

21 Oct

Hi all! This morning marks a momentous occasion; we have turned on the heat for the first time in our house. I was trying to hold out until November, I really was, but my son who refuses to wear more than underwear most mornings was the impetus for the heat. Oh well! I have to say it was nice coming into a warm house from walking the dog this morning 😛

As such, my thoughts are turning to making clothes that suit this weather. Unfortunately, I’ve slacked on sewing my daughter’s Halloween costume (Marie Antoinette) so my machine is currently spoken for. Looking in my archives this morning I came across this cool Forties pattern:

Hollywood 1659

This militaristic styling is very typical of the era. View one is showing that this pattern can be made as separates which, if I were to make this, is exactly how I would sew it using a good wool. A jacket like this is very flattering on my dewdrop figure (haha, a more apt description I feel than “pear shaped”).  I like waist definition and the well defined shoulders of this jacket would make one’s waist look even smaller. Who doesn’t love clothes that flatter by illusion? Check out those cool pockets in the shoulder area. These kind of details are what I love most about vintage patterns.

Also of note is the adorable sailor-front skirt. I don’t particularly like it with the jacket, but on its own it would be a real stunner. I could see this made up in a Navy blue wool (what else?) with either brass or white nautical-themed buttons.

I’m going to attempt to write up some posts today for the coming  weeks, but don’t be surprised if I fall silent. Yesterday, thanks to our local Craigslist we were able to score all the boxes we need for the move which is a short two weeks away!! Squee!! I can’t wait to blog from the house 🙂 It’s so much more picturesque!

Until next we meet,

Eileen

7 Responses to “Pretty Pattern Sunday #43”

  1. mancunianvintage October 21, 2012 at 10:50 AM #

    Gorgeous patterns – do you reckon you’ll make this post-move? Good luck! x

    • eileensbasement October 28, 2012 at 5:02 PM #

      I would like to! I have so many patterns on the “to do” list 😦

  2. gail October 21, 2012 at 4:03 PM #

    I love that skirt! I was thinking navy blue linen, and then I realized I have a skirt just like it in linen in my closet, LOL!

    • eileensbasement October 28, 2012 at 5:02 PM #

      Yes, navy would look so nice, as would white or red . . . . Anything nautical and I suppose patriotic if you look at the colors I just listed!

  3. Alli October 23, 2012 at 11:00 PM #

    Love that pattern…..would love to see it made up. It would look gorgeous 🙂

Leave a Reply

