My Deco Dining Room

10 Apr

We have been in our lovely Bungalow for just about two years now, and it is only this year that I’m FINALLY getting serious about decorating. I particularly wanted to start with the downstairs, since,  let’s face it, these are the areas that the public sees the most when they visit you. To date, I’ve gotten two out of four rooms downstairs just about where I want them, decor-wise.

Indulge me if you please. A week and a half ago, I was scrolling through my local Craigslist ads when I came across an ad for a vintage dining room set that was pretty much EXACTLY what I wanted. The price was unbelievably reasonable, but the ad had been posted thirty days before and I was pretty sure the set had been snapped up. I emailed the seller anyway on the off-chance that it was still around. Days passed and . . . nothing. I figured it was gone.

Then, last Wednesday, I got a call and darned if the set wasn’t still for sale! They just weren’t the type of sellers who doggedly update their ads on a daily basis. I made arrangements to pick up the set this past weekend (which ended up being a total hassle involving a borrowed too-small truck and last minute U-Haul arrangements needing to be made) but thankfully we got them home and all set up.

The set included a table which expands, six chairs (one of which a captain’s chair with arms), a sideboard, and a china hutch. And here they are.

 

Clean lines and surfaces

Clean lines and surfaces

???????????????????

Lovely Deco style chairs

China Cabinet

Could finally put out my Limoges tea set and jade-ite collection!

Room with a view

View from the window seat

They fit perfectly into our dining room. The only things I’d like to do now to make the room exactly how I want it would be to rip out the carpet and restore the wood floors below,  replace the garish gold fan/light with something more period correct, find some great art for the walls, and re-cover the seats to something a bit more neutral.

Let me just say that I’m extremely grateful that I don’t intend to move again if I can help it because lifting these pieces, the day after I did a rather ill-timed intense weight lifting workout, was not pleasant!

Well chickadees, thanks for dropping by!

Eileen

4 Responses to “My Deco Dining Room”

  1. dokucug April 11, 2014 at 8:05 AM #

    I can’t believe it’s been two years! This “new” set is gorgeous! I especially love the sideboard. Good job stalking Craigslist!

    • eileensbasement April 11, 2014 at 6:19 PM #

      Yeah just about, I rounded up a bit . . . in November it’s two years!

  2. Stephanie April 11, 2014 at 10:26 AM #

    Love it! I’m working on convincing my hubby of the fabulousness of vintage furniture!

    • eileensbasement April 11, 2014 at 5:44 PM #

      It is fabulous and the bargains around here are unbeatable!

Leave a Reply

