Easter Dress

22 Apr

Heya folks!

Our whole weekend was glorious and I spent much of it outside tidying up, hanging up laundry, sending roosters to “freezer camp” and getting things done around the homestead.  We also celebrated Easter with the kiddos which involved a fun little egg hunt and WAY too much candy being eaten overall.

I wanted to show ya’ll the dress I wore because it fits in with my previously unblogged series. I may have stated this before, but I have a bad habit of pretty much copying the fabric choices on pattern envelopes. This dress is a perfect case in point. Here is the pattern:

McCall 6895And here is my dress:

Showing off my stripes

Showing off my stripes

Yeah I pretty much copied the dress on the left EXACTLY. I used a crisp green and white striped cotton fabric. Unfortunately, I made it so long ago, much of the details that went into its construction have escaped me. I remember trying to be as careful as possible to match the stripes on the front detail.

???????????????????

Peek a boo!

I accessorized with a thrifted leather belt and my number one go to pair of sandals for summer; Saltwater Sandals! I spent a good part of the day basking in the sun. I swear it was at least 80 degrees out!

Trying to get a tan

Trying to get a tan

These poor limbs of mine haven’t seen the light of day since at least September. It was so nice to just soak up the rays and toss back a cool one. My cool one of choice on this particular day was a delicious Woodchuck hard cider.

???????????????????Because I’m not getting any younger, I shielded my face with my favorite “outside” hat. This is a funny hat I picked up in “China” at Epcot in Florida. It’s perfect for keeping sun off your face, but not great for staying on your head when it’s windy! So I guess I actually did wear an Easter hat!

This is only the second time I’ve worn this dress, which is a shame because I really do like the way it looks on. It made it’s original debut a long time ago when I met Casey for a thrift store/tea room/fabric store jaunt. That means this poor dress hasn’t been worn in at least three years. Wow! Surprised I kept it this long since I’m typically pretty good about getting rid of things I don’t wear so much. Oh well! I predict that it will get a lot of wear during this Spring and Summer season.

Until next time dears,

Eileen

8 Responses to “Easter Dress”

  1. Stephanie April 22, 2014 at 8:12 PM #

    I too tend to be very inspired by the fabric choices on pattern covers. This dress is super cute. 🙂

    • eileensbasement April 28, 2014 at 8:56 PM #

      Isn’t that funny? I worry I’m not terribly original, but I guess if the artwork is what drew me to the pattern in the first place, it’s not so bad!

  2. Janey April 22, 2014 at 9:11 PM #

    This is so cute! And I adore the fabric you chose!

    xoxo
    -Janey

    • eileensbasement April 23, 2014 at 6:46 AM #

      Thank you! I always wonder what it says about me that I usually choose fabric similar to, or the same as the pattern. 😛

  3. dokucug April 23, 2014 at 8:20 AM #

    I’m glad you kept it – this dress is adorable! You ought to wear it more often! Also – the hat story reminded me of going to the thrift shops in Evanston! Such a fun day!

    • eileensbasement April 28, 2014 at 8:57 PM #

      Thanks! I see it getting more wear this summer for sure. Oh that was such a fun day. I was just talking about it with someone a few days ago. I just got out the red striped dress I bought with you. Can’t wait to wear it this season!

  4. chris May 5, 2014 at 9:10 PM #

    Love that dress! And I too have a “China” hat – its my favorite for gardening because it doesn’t make my head hot – you just need to add little ties to make a bow under your chin so it’ll stay on!

    • eileensbasement May 6, 2014 at 5:51 AM #

      Yeah it’s a great hat; lots of shade. Mine has a loop with a little bead that you can move up and down but it doesn’t work for keeping the hat on. I think I’ll just cut the string in half and that way I can tie it like yours. Thanks for the idea! Can’t believe I didn’t think to do that earlier, haha.

Leave a Reply

