Gorgeous Little Things

24 May

Apologies for the lack of posting this week. I had a plan all laid out and then come Monday I get a huge new work assignment dropped in my lap and everything went out the window after that.

The other day I was scrolling through my pictures and I came across something I wanted to share with you. What you may not know about me is that my first and most abiding fashion love is the styles of the 1920s. Something about that era speaks to me in a way other eras do not. Unfortunately, I am a VERY pronounced pear shape and my fashion love looks terrible on me. So I stick to a lot of what you see here which is ’40s through early ’60s.

So when I was scrolling through my photos I came across pictures I had taken of a gorgeous beaded “flapper” dress that a very generous friend had gifted me years ago. It’s the loveliest thing, but very delicate and so I don’t take it out too much.

SAMSUNGAs you can no doubt tell, it’s pretty difficult to photograph it in any way that captures its true beauty. It’s a slight rusty color. The beading is amber, gold, and blue. I can find no maker’s tag inside. The silhouette is your typical 1920s straight tubular sheath with ties on the side, giving slight hip definition.

231Here is a close up of the beading from the hip area. I feel like it has a slight Egyptian feel to it; perhaps the maker was inspired by the finding of Tutankhamen’s tomb and the subsequent craze for all things ancient Egyptian? You can see how tiny the beads are and how delicate the fabric really is. I think the fabric is a sheer silk crepe as the poor thing is shredding in the way silk will at the shoulders. This is why one should store these dresses flat rather than on a hanger. Mine resides in an acid free box, with acid free paper between the dress folds for good measure.

SAMSUNGI especially enjoy the way the beading compliments the lines of the garment and emphasizes the popular ’20s shape of the day. Long, linear, emphasis at the dropped hips, continuing into more linear beading at the skirt.

For now, this dress resides, as I said, in a box. I have thought about displaying it since something this beautiful deserves to be admired. An idea I’ve toyed with is having it mounted and preserved under glass for me to hang up. My house was built in the 1920s and so it would compliment it very well.

What would you do, or what have you done with one of these beauties?

Eileen

 

 

6 Responses to “Gorgeous Little Things”

  1. Janey May 24, 2014 at 12:49 PM #

    Wow! What a stunning gift! The beadwork is exceptional on it!

    Like you, I don’t feel like the 20s cuts look all that great on me, though I do adore the intricate work of the items, as well as the designs.

    I’ve seen the framing done with 20s swimsuits before, but not with a dress! I think it’s a great idea though.

    xoxo
    -Janey

    • eileensbasement May 25, 2014 at 8:18 AM #

      Yes, I have seen the framed bathing suits which are super cute! I’m sort of internally cringing thinking of how expensive it would be to mount and frame the dress though. I paid nearly $100 for a frame and two mats which measure about 8.5″ x 11″! Can’t imagine what a dress sized frame would be!

  2. dokucug May 24, 2014 at 11:09 PM #

    Wow, that is just gorgeous! What a treasure! It would be so fun to daydream about the original owner, what she looked like and how and when she wore this dress 🙂

    • eileensbasement May 25, 2014 at 8:19 AM #

      I definitely wish that my clothes could talk. I bet they’d have some great stories to tell. I’m glad I’m not the only one out there who thinks of things like this!

  3. wardrobe experience May 29, 2014 at 2:39 AM #

    i adore 20s-30s fashion … but as you wrote, ‘it looks terrible on me’. on me either. So i prefer to swoon over beautiful pictures of old fashion magazines or posts showing beautiful treasures like this … i like the idea of framing it.

  4. Randi May 29, 2014 at 9:19 AM #

    Oh my goodness, what an exquisite dress! The blue and gold beads definitely make me think of Ancient Egypt and I love the color of the dress itself. My 20s dresses are all black, with black beading, so to see something like this is amazing.
    I’ve seen a framed vintage swim suits, like Janey said, and antique blouses, but never anything this long before. Trying to think of how I’ve seen garments displayed in museums… what would be neat is to put it into a table, one that has a glass covered compartment for displays (if that makes sense?) but a wall hanging would be much more impressive and more easily seen. Hmmm.. what a challenge!

Leave a comment